Moved!

Jason, Murphy and I have successfully moved into our new house with a lot of help from a moving company and fueled by Domino’s Pizza. I kind of hate that I had pizza two days this weekend, but I’m trying to not let it bother me. I mean, when there’s no food in the house and you’re tired from making four trips (20 minutes each way) to and from the old house, delivery pizza is kind of the best option. I just wish this mass pizza consumption wasn’t occurring 4 weeks before my wedding.

We used a moving company (Two Men and a Truck) and let me tell you, it was the best $350 that I’ve spent in a long time. Okay, it was probably the only $350 that I’ve spent in a long time. Well, besides the money we spent on the house! It was tiring enough just moving some little stuff, I can’t imagine how awful it would be to move all of our furniture. It took the movers about 2.5-3 hours, though they only charged us for 2.5 for some reason. They also gave us three men for the price of two. Very positive reviews here for that particular moving company.

The whole move thing has been very unnerving for Murphy. I don’t know if he thinks we’re leaving him or what. But he’s been wild. Lots of barking and running around the house, jumping on me. Last night, he wouldn’t leave my side. He seems to be more adjusted this morning. I told him a million times that we’re not leaving him, we live here too. Sometimes I really forget that my dog doesn’t understand English.

Today is going to consist of unpacking and probably making a few purchases. One thing about the house that bothers me is that it’s not that clean. I guess when you’re not renting and trying to get your security deposit back, you aren’t as concerned with bleaching the tub and stuff. I mean, it’s not like they left trash or anything, but there is just some dirt. It’s weird, when it’s my dirt, it doesn’t bother me that much, but when it’s other people’s dirt, ewww. I spent a good half hour scrubbing down the fridge last night.

Pictures to come after we get the place in order. Unfortunately, my laptop won’t turn on and that’s where I normally upload pictures to and blog from. I think the battery might need to be replace. Ugh.

Happy Memorial Day!

18 responses to “Moved!

  1. Best of luck with the new move! Unpacking and stuff…uh, they aren’t exactly fun, but I hope you still have a great time!
    Can’t wait for the pictures!

  2. Congrats on the move! We used 2 men and a truck too- they were AWESOME! Frank totally went batty and chewed a piece of wall in our new home when we moved. I think its just so stressful for them! Good luck with the unpack

  3. Have fun unpacking!!! Can’t wait to see pics of the new place!

  4. That is great news, Lee – congratulations!!! You have to be SO relieved to be in your house. I used Two Men and a Truck, too – LOVED them. I am frugal and hate spending money when I think I can ‘do it myself,’ but they are SO WORTH it.

    Good luck unpacking and can’t wait for the pics!

  5. Glad you got moved in…no worries about pizza! Really moving and pizza just kind of go hand in hand!

  6. Congrats on the move! I know it was super-stressful up until closing but you’re in! YAY! And I know what you mean about “other people’s” dirt – it is sorta “ew” but you’ll put your own touches on everything soon enough! Cheers!

  7. We ate terribly when we were moving, but you know what, it’s OK!! You burn so many calories packing, unpacking, moving, lifting, rearranging, etc. so no worries!! And our dogs had to readjust as well. Ripsey actually was the opposite. She wouldn’t lay near us like she usually did, just laid in her crate all isolated and sad. It took her about a week to get back to her old self.

  8. Glad the move went smoothly. We got moved into our new apartment yesterday and are mostly unpacked, which is fantastic. Now it’s time for the big grocery shop.

  9. Congrats on the new house! We hired movers for the first time moving into this house and it was definitely worth the $300 I agree! Moving is so exhausting!

  10. Congrats on the new home! I’ll bet that was nerve-wracking for Murphy! Can’t wait to see pictures!

    And I couldn’t agree more…movers are worth their weight in GOLD!

  11. Yay! Can’t wait for pics! I loved movers and I hear you – we had to hire cleaners. I just totally feel ya on the dirt thing!

    “fueled by dominoes” haha Ours was fueled by Johnny’s Pizza!! LOL Don’t feel bad AT ALL!

  12. Hooray for getting the move done and settled! MOving is the worsssssst

  13. congrats on the move!

  14. Yay congrats on the move! I hope Murphy is feeling a little more settled. I totally hear you on other people’s dirt. Nasty. And plain rude that they left it dirty!

  15. Congratulations on the move 🙂

    And don’t worry about the pizza-moving is hard work! At least you won’t have to worry about moving after the wedding!

  16. Congrats on getting moved in!! When my husband and I moved into our house, we did it ALL ourselves…couches, tables, TV, bed…oh my word it was exhausting. It took us like 6 hours and I vowed that next time we moved I would hire someone. I am glad to know that Two Men and a Truck did a good job. I have seen them around, so next time I move – I will definitely give them a call.

  17. YES! congrats on the move. sorry, i am behind on blog reading 😛