Honeymoon and house stuff (no food)

With everything that’s been going on, we haven’t really thought too much about our honeymoon. I know, I know. Since the wedding is in DC, we decided that it would be less stressful if we came back to Atlanta after the wedding and then went on our honeymoon a week later. That way, we wouldn’t have to bring our vacation gear to DC. We will also be able to drive Murphy up to Jason’s parents in SC (thanks in-laws!) so we don’t have to board him for two weeks straight.

We’re going to Maui so if anyone has any suggestions for must-see and do things there, please send them my way. I know that I want to do the Road to Hana and a tour that I read about where you bike down a volcano. I probably should get a book about Maui. Come to think of it, I should get some fun books to read there as well. When we last went on vacation, to Cancun, I brought two books and read them in 4 days. I’m definitely a fan of reading by the pool or on the beach. I think I’m going to enjoy our in-between week (even though I have to work) so I can get more organized for our trip. The more I think about it, the happier I am with our decision to come home for a week in-between the wedding and the honeymoon.

I’m flying up to DC tomorrow evening. My stepmother is throwing me a bridal shower on Saturday morning. I also have a dress fitting right after and we’re going to go to Costco on Sunday to get some stuff for the out of town guest bags.

So, house stuff: This backyard is awesome for Murphy. It’s like his own private dog park. Such an upgrade from our tiny townhouse backyard. The first day we were here, we were chatting in the backyard when I noticed that I didn’t see Murphy anywhere. There’s a lot of wooded areas so I figured he was just hiding somewhere, but no. He was in the neighbor’s yard! After some panic that he’d jumped the fence, we realized that there was a small hole that he’d squeezed himself through. Jason patched it up the next day. Crisis averted. Hopefully he won’t learn to jump the fence.

There are a lot of trees which means that there is a lot of shade which means that I probably won’t be able to start a vegetable garden. I don’t think the yard gets enough light anywhere unless we want to cut down some big trees. I guess I could plant my garden in the front yard. Jason’s parents are coming to visit next week and hopefully will have some suggestions for the garden.

7 responses to “Honeymoon and house stuff (no food)

  1. Awww, happy pups make for happy fur mommies! I am jealous you’re going to Maui…that was our dream location! Puerto Vallarta was nice, but it wasn’t Hawaii! 🙂 I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  2. Glad Murphy is enjoying his big new backyard! Our dogs couldn’t have been happier when we moved into our house. Private dog park is right! 😉

  3. Keith and I went to Maui for our honeymoon and the best thing we did was buy our own snorkel gear (in Maui) and then explore a different beach every single day. It was awesome. Also eat at The Hula Grill on Ka’anapli Beach…they have GREAT ahi tuna!

  4. Jealous, I want to go to Hawaii!

  5. I think its a great idea to have a break between the honeymoon and the wedding. I wish we had done that. I don’t have any recs for things to do in Maui but let me know if you want some book recs. 🙂

  6. Yard=happy dog 🙂

    Could you try planting the garden on the side of the house?

    Have fun in DC!

  7. Yay for Murphy!!

    I’ve never been to Maui before – I bet it will be beautiful!!