Bridal Shower Weekend Recap

I flew up to DC after work on Friday to attend a bridal shower that my stepmother threw for me on Saturday morning. In attendance were: my mother, stepmother, sister, aunt, mom’s friend, stepmother’s friend, three cousins and my two high school BFFs, Eva and Kirsten. (Got that? There will be a test.) My father sort of hung out in the background. He has put on some much needed weight since I last saw him in April and looked much healthier. He seems to be feeling totally fine.

We started out with a mimosa. I’m not a big orange juice fan, but these were good. Maybe it was the champagne.

IMG_2223.JPG

I had a half bagel with cream cheese and tomato, a broiled tomato and some sort of egg souffle for my meal. It was all very tasty. I don’t eat them very often, but I absolutely love a bagel with cream cheese and tomato.

IMG_2241.JPG

For dessert, there was a beautiful cake. The top layer was vanilla and the bottom chocolate. I shared a piece of the vanilla layer with my mother.

IMG_2264.JPG
IMG_2265.JPG

Then I got to open gifts and get buried under tissue paper.

IMG_2281.JPG
IMG_2300.JPG
IMG_2298.JPG

It was a really nice shower. We didn’t play any games or anything like that (not my thing) but we did make the obligatory rehearsal bouquet out of ribbon from the gifts. My stepmother kept saying I should wear it on my head.

IMG_2307.JPG

On Sunday morning, my mom took me to this great new farmer’s market in downtown Bethesda, where she lives. Look at all this nice stuff! We bought some tomatoes and strawberries. The strawberries were melt in your mouth sweet and nothing like the Dole ones that you buy at the grocery store.

IMG_2333.JPG
IMG_2338.JPG
IMG_2340.JPG
IMG_2343.JPG

In addition to produce, they had cheese, wine, gelato, LEBANESE TAVERNA dips and sauces (in caps because it’s my favorite restaurant), bread and meat. They also had local wine and honey. Awesome. I love doing things like this on a weekend morning.

In the afternoon, we prepared the out of town guest bags for the wedding. In them went two bottles of water, a small bag of Utz chips, a Nature’s Valley granola bar, a handful of Hershey Kisses and some candy. Oh and a metro map. Obviously, we’d been to Costco the previous day. Fortunately, my cousin Debbie came over to help us because come to find out, neither my mother nor I can curl a ribbon to save our life.

IMG_2352.JPG
10 responses to “Bridal Shower Weekend Recap

  1. LEBANESE TAVERNA!!!

    Everything looks so gorgeous and colorful. Missed out on the farmers’ market this weekend, sadly, but glad you were able to check it out.

  2. Looks like you had a lovely bridal shower!! What a pretty cake!! πŸ™‚

  3. Pretty cake & the out of town bags are cute too! Glad you had a nice weekend.. πŸ™‚

  4. What a great weekend πŸ™‚ The shower looks awesome. I agree- the bagel/cream cheese/tomato combo is so so good (especially on a toasted onion bagel). And the cake is beautiful. Looks like you got some great gifties too. The tomatoes at the farmers market look so fresh and vibrant. Hope your week treats you well.

  5. What a great shower! You and your mom look so much alike… curly hair and all. πŸ™‚

  6. What a beautiful shower, Lee! Your mom looks beautiful – and you look so much like her! I’m so glad to hear your father is feeling well, too.

  7. That cake looks awesome! Aren’t bridal showers fun?!

  8. That cake is beautiful! Glad you had a nice bridal shower!

  9. Yay! Looks like a successful shower – love the cookbooks! πŸ™‚ The cake looks great too, and of course the mimosas. The pic of you and your parents are cute – you look SO much like them – beautiful family and so glad to hear they’re being friendly with each other!!

  10. Fun! And your photos are gorgeous. I love out-of-town bags for wedding guests. I’m sure it’s going to go under the list of things my boyfriend thinks is a waste of money but I want to do them anyway (but we’re not even engaged, so there’s time to convince him of the cuteness.)