Lifting

I really felt like running yesterday and decided to run outside at lunch. My office building has a little lake nearby and I ran around it for about half an hour – nine times around the lake. I’m estimating that it was about three miles, but I’m not sure. I have no idea where my Garmin is at the moment, but I’m very curious to see just how far one lap around the lake is.

I’ve run many times on the treadmill at lunch, but underestimated just how sweaty and red I would get after three miles in 80+ degree temps. Even though I showered after, I was still red faced when I got back to work. People didn’t seem to notice or care. Everyone knows that I work out during my lunch break all the time. I’m kind of the office runner/weird food eater. Well, me and another girl, but I get more shit for it, at least for the weird food part.

I’ve been trying to work out at lunch more often because the nights just seem to get away from me when I don’t. I’ll find time for the gym, but I really miss that lost hour in the evening, especially because we’re still trying to get the house in order. I desperately need to do the laundry. Don’t laugh, but I haven’t even BEEN in the basement since move-in day. I guess I have a lot of clothes. Or I wear stuff more than once before washing it. You’ll never know.

In the past couple weeks, with everything going on, p90x has not happened. Our dvd player isn’t even hooked up yet. Silly excuse, but I’ve just been so busy! I missed weight training so today, I decided to do a short full body strength routine. I actually used the ifitness app on my phone but modified it with the equipment available at my office gym.

Shoulder press – 10 lbs (each hand, 20 total), 2 sets of 12
Lat Pulldown – 50 lbs, 1 set of 10, 2 sets of 8
Seated Row – 50 lbs, 3 sets of 8
Chest Press – 12.5 lbs (each hand, 25 lbs total) 3 sets of 12
Chest Fly – 10 lbs (each hand, 20 lbs total) 2 sets of 12
Overhead Tricep Extension – 20 lbs, 3 sets of 8
Biceps Curl – 12.5 lb (each hand, 25 lbs total) 3 sets of 8
Machine Leg Press – 125 lbs, 3 sets of 12
Single Leg Standing Calf Raise – 2 sets of 18 reps each leg
Deadlift – 40 lbs, 3 sets of 8

Kind of skimpy on the lower body, but it’ll do. I’m testing out the lower rep/heavier weight thing. Yes, those are heavy weights for me. I inherited a lack of muscle tone from my mom. Thanks mommy. Also, happy birthday, mom! She’s 61 if you can believe it. She looks really young, huh? See yesterday’s post for pictures.

Dinner tonight was random, as it’s been and probably will continue to be as we get settled. I bought this sprouted grain pizza because it was on sale. It was good, but I could easily make my own for much cheaper. The nutritionals on the box look good – 2 servings at 170 cals each but then you realize that they weren’t kidding when they said it was thin-crust. This was just like a tortilla. Good thing tortilla pizzas are one of my favorite meals.

IMG_2353.JPG

With the pizza, I roasted some onion, yellow pepper and yellow squash. I sort of wish I’d done red peppers to make it more colorful. The secret to roasting, I’ve found, is to make sure you coat the veggies in enough oil. I tend to be a little afraid of oil and end up skimping on it only to find a bunch of dried up veggies. I used 1 tbsp oil here for 1/2 onion, 1 yellow pepper and 1 yellow squash. 1 tbsp of oil is 70 calories and the veggies have less than 100 total (I’m estimating, I have no idea) so it’s really a low-calorie side dish even with what seems like a heavy amount of oil. Plus, I split it with Jason.

IMG_2359.JPG

\Off to tackle that laundry.

10 responses to “Lifting

  1. I ain’t skerred of a little oil! It is most definitely great on roasted veggies. I used it on my roasted peppers tonight too and it made such a huge difference! I also really like that frozen pizza, but you’re right, it really is very thin crust.

  2. I think its wonderful that you workout during lunch! Its a great break during your work day! The pizza looks so yummy. I want to try!

  3. Great workout…awesome!!

  4. Wow that is a super thin crust! Nice workout, those would be heavy weights for me too, haha.

  5. I’ve never had a tortilla crust pizza before….it sounds delicious! We have a Kroger here, I will have to check that out.

  6. I don’t know if I could handle that thin of a crust. I guess I could as long as it was still crispy. It looks yummy with all the tomatoes. I am on a huge tomato kick.

    Your workout looks great. I don’t think it looks skimpy on the legs either. You did some great all around leg moves.

  7. Sounds like a good run! I always hated running during my lunch break, but I think you’re right– no one cares/notices if you’re a little sweaty after lunch!

  8. Great workout – red face and all. I get SUPER beet red when I workout, hence why I could never workout at lunch and go back to work, I am a disgusting mess after and plus, it would take me forever to shower and get back to work after LOL. So I applaud you for getting ‘er done at lunch, that is no small feat!

  9. Great workout! I hear you – I get shit for working out during lunch, but my eats are just more like whoa…. how much tupperware do you go through? Whateva… I keep doing my thing because i’m with you – waiting until the end of the day is TOO long!