Pity Party Over

I went to bed around 10:30 last night but still didn’t get a good night’s sleep. The argument with my mother was weighing heavy on my mind. (We have since made up.) I was irritable with Jason because of it. It was too hot in our room and Murphy decided to sleep with us. We only have a double bed. Murphy is a 60 pound dog. Murphy is a 60 pound dog who likes to sleep on my side of the bed.

Okay, I’m done having a pity party.

I’m just stressed out about the wedding. I don’t know why. There is nothing in particular that I’m worried about. I just find myself arguing with one of my parents at any given moment and it takes a toll. Seriously, wedding planning for an out-of-town wedding when you have divorced parents is not exactly a walk in the park. I’ve cried in my office more times in the past few months than I care to admit. I feel like everyone has his or her ideas of what my perfect wedding is supposed to be like but no one listens to my ideas (or Jason’s). I just want it to be over and to get on with my life. Does that sound bad? There is so much emphasis on the wedding, not even so much on the ceremony, but on the party. The party lasts for 5 hours. My marriage lasts for the rest of my life and that seems to get lost in all of the chaos. The marriage is the important part, not the party. No one seems to remember that.

Oops, I continued the pity party. Let’s talk about something else.

Since I’m trying to kick the diet coke habit for the millionth time, I’ve been trying to find something to drink that’s low-calorie and doesn’t hurt my stomach. So far, there are only two things that I found and have since become mildly obsessed with:

486680b.jpg

But only the lemonade and orange flavors. The other flavors are kinda yuck. The orange one either tastes like Sunny Delight or Tang. I haven’t had either of those in probably 20 years so I can’t remember which it reminds me of. And, the best part is that since they are sweetened with Truvia and not aspartame or Splenda, they don’t seem to hurt the ol’ tum-tum. I wish I could just drink water, I’d save a lot of money, but sometimes I just like the taste of sweet drinks.

I got my workout in at lunch and was able to have time to make last night’s intended dinner, Greek Barley Salad with Feta, tonight.

IMG_2382.JPG

Since I can’t follow a recipe to save my life, I made some substitutions. I didn’t have any garlic so I omitted it. I used several baby peppers for good color and I used goat cheese instead of feta because I had it on hand.

Jason turned up his nose when I told him that I was making barley for dinner, but then he said it was really good.

IMG_2388.JPG

So, that lunch-time workout? I incorporated some of the iFitness Glute Definition workout and then added some extra ab moves:

Dumbell Calf Jump – 20 lbs, 12 reps, 3 sets
Machine Leg Press – 126 lbs, 12 reps, 3 sets
Dumbell Lunge – 25 lbs, 8 reps (each leg), 3 sets
Dumbell Front Squat – 25 lbs, 8 reps, 3 sets
Single Standing Calf Raise – 20 reps (each leg), 2 sets
Side Lunge – 10 lbs, 12 reps, 3 sets
In-out (I have no idea what this is really called, it’s the first AB Ripper X move) – 12 reps, 2 sets
Forward Bicyles – 12 reps, 2 sets
Backward Bicycles – 12 reps, 2 sets
V-ups (so f’n hard!!) – 8 reps, 2 sets
Reverse crunch – 12 reps, 2 sets
Bicycles – 12 reps (each side), 2 sets
Oblique Twist – 12 reps (each side), 2 sets

Do I have any techy readers? Do you know if I can run Snow Leopard on a PPC machine?

10 responses to “Pity Party Over

  1. I’m not your techy reader! But I DO want that salad and I AM sorry to hear that you’re so stressed. I remember the feelings… all too well. Everyone knew what was best and, whether they meant to or not, made it about them which stressed me out to end. Hang in there – it will get better. And yes, the crying at work. oy!

  2. I feel for you on the wedding stuff, Lee! I had similar feelings before my wedding… like why is everyone worried about who will sit with who and make sure no one’s feelings are hurt during photographs when what I was most excited about was marrying my best friend. I didn’t care about all that other stuff. But hang in there, because when the big day finally comes, it’ll be so worth it and you will be so happy!! πŸ™‚

  3. I am so, so sorry, Lee. Ugh, I get so frustrated when people get so caught up in the wedding frills and thrills. To me, you have the best mindset – you want the MARRIAGE, not just the wedding (for some, it seems like the opposite!). I hope the next couple of weeks are as low stress as they can be for you!

  4. We have SO all been through it! Wedding planning is unnecessarily stressful. Just remember, not a big deal if anything goes wrong- no one except you (and maybe your Mom) will know the difference! It will be fantastic. Enjoy it. It is over too quick!!! That dish looks wonderful. I love barley. Fabulous

  5. Weddings, while a lot of fun, are also a lot of work and a lot of stress. I can totally understand that it is taking it’s toll on you. But it is almost here and then you will be married and in Maui basking in the glow of being a newlywed! πŸ™‚

  6. The stress is all worth it in the end, when you’re MARRIED πŸ™‚

    That salad looks bomb! πŸ™‚

  7. Aww sending you hugs! It stinks when things get a little over-the-top chaotic around wedding plans when, to your point, its not so much about the wedding but the marriage to come. You have the right perspective…just keep focusing on that and you will get through this and soon enough, will be stress-free, married and happy as ever, promise!

  8. I think you said it perfectly- your marriage lasts the rest of your life and that is what matters at the end of the day. The time leading up to the wedding can be so incredibly stressful, especially when others lose sight of what is really important. It will be here before you know it and you guys will have a wonderful day!

  9. oh lady, that sucks. i remember having those same exact feelings when we were approaching our wedding. all you can do it breath. a lot. and very deeply! you will get through it.

    we are looking forward to celebrating the *marriage* with you and soaking in your love for each other. it’s a special weekend. and one that is all about you and jason. πŸ™‚