Our First BBQ

I’ve been determined to make myself like oatmeal. An egg sandwich every morning is getting kind of old and cold cereal never seems to fill me up. I’ve been making steel cut oats for the past week and they’ve only been so-so, but I think I came up with a good mixture yesterday. I’m sure I got the idea from a blog somewhere, so if I stole your recipe, my apologies!

IMG_2408.JPG

Carrot Cake Oats

1/4 cup steel cut oats
1 cup water (I find that in my rice cooker, if I put 1.5 cups water, it doesn’t evaporate enough)
1/4 cup shredded carrots
1/4 cup crushed pineapple
2 tbsp sweetened coconut
1 packet stevia in the raw
1 heaping spoonful 0% plain chobani

Cook the oats with the shredded carrots in the water. I used the rice cooker that we got for a wedding gift. The cool thing about the rice cooker is that you can prepare the oats at night and set the cooker to have them done at a certain time in the morning. This is why I didn’t use milk; I don’t think dairy should sit out overnight, but I’m sure you could use milk if you were making the oats the normal way.

When oats are cooked, mix all other ingredients. The picture is before I added the stevia and yogurt. I don’t know that it tasted like carrot cake, but it was pretty good.

So, I was talking about running two half marathons the other day like it was no biggie. I went to the gym Thursday night and ran 3 miles and it sucked ass. I was running at 5.9mph and honestly felt like I might puke. Plus, this new gym is really hot and the treadmills don’t have individual fans like my old gym did. I don’t know what I expected; my running has been really sporadic since my last half, in late March. Of course, as I was running, I was getting very frustrated with myself since three months ago, I could run 4x this amount and feel okay. But, I know from experience, I will be able to build it back up again. It is a pain, but it happens to me pretty much after every big race that I do. I have done six half-marathons and I know that as long as I have the ability to run the distances on week one of a training plan, if I follow the 12-week plan, I’ll be able to run a half-marathon at the end.

That’s actually good advice for anyone running his or her first big race who is worried about not being able to do it. I ran my first half-marathon in 2005. I remember when I started training, the most I’d ever run was 4 miles. 4 and 13 is a big difference, but if you follow a training plan where the first week’s long run is something you have the endurance to do already, you will be able to build up your miles and race your distance come race day.

Basically, what I’m trying to say is that although I am annoyed at myself for letting my endurance drop, I am still completely confident that I will be able to run 2 half-marathons this fall.

Last night, we put our new grill to use. Our friends Emily and Brian came over for a bbq. We had some appetizer plates – some bruschetta and some unpictured hummus.

IMG_2411.JPG

Don’t get too impressed; the bruschetta is from Costco! I also had the new Sweetwater Beer – Sch’Wheat. Sweetwater is a very popular local brewery. I am happy to support them, but I normally don’t like any of their beers. They used to have one called Hummer that I liked, but they got rid of it. I’m pleased to say, I did enjoy the Sch’Wheat. Their other beers are just too dark for me. I don’t like dark beer.

IMG_2413.JPG

Jason made burgers on the grill. We bought veggie burgers for me, but I was so full from the appetizers that I didn’t even bother to cook one. I just stuck with vegetables.

IMG_2415.JPG

I have no idea why there were six burgers for three people! Needless to say, there are three leftover burgers in our fridge right now.

IMG_2421.JPG

It was a fun evening although by about 11, I was ready to go to sleep. Everyone makes fun of me, but I am just not a night owl. I can’t help it. I would say I go to sleep around 11 on weeknights (I think that’s pretty late!) and around midnight or maybe 12:30 on weekends. I have friends that stay out partying until 3 am still. I cannot do that! What time do you normally go to sleep?

10 responses to “Our First BBQ

  1. I’m not a night owl either! I try to be in bed by 10pm during the week since I’m up around 5am.

    I’m sure you will rock the half marathons this fall πŸ™‚

  2. I love cookouts!! We’re having one tonight, well just for us, but I’m still excited!! πŸ™‚

    Since it’s the summer I go to bed anywhere around 10:30-11:30. But during the school year it’s between 9:00-10:00.

  3. thank you so much for your support!!! love you πŸ™‚ also im an early bed time girl too , just can’t help it!

  4. Love the idea of Carrot Cake Oats! Phew…sounds yummy.

  5. Carrot Cake oats sound delicious.. I’ve never tried them before. What a great idea!

    It seems like your first bbq was a complete success!! I can run about 3 miles with little effort so I have been thinking about signing up for a half marathon in the fall to really push myself toward something.. but I always get nervous when it actually comes down to it. I have no doubt that you will successfully build up your mileage again πŸ˜‰

  6. I was at Sweetwater on Friday and stuck with Sch’weat the entire time. πŸ™‚

    I go to bed around 10:30-11:00 on weeknights, and ideally, midnight on weekends. Although, 2:00 happens sometimes and I feel awful the next day!

    • Good to know they have it there. The last time I went, I drank like two samples of Blue and gave the rest of my tickets to Jason because I don’t like any of the others.

  7. Ok I need to know – what’s your 12 week plan for half-marathon training? First time half-marathoner here needs to know! πŸ˜‰

  8. The carrot cake oatmeal looks so good! I have been trying to eat oatmeal that is more natural and less of my standard Quaker with loads of sugar. Thanks for sharing!