4th of July

Yesterday morning, Jason and I ran the Peachtree Road Race, the largest 10K in the country. It was our 3rd time doing it together and my fifth time overall.

IMG_3462.JPG

Since we were in group X, we didn’t start until 9 am. Everything was fine and dandy and we got to sleep in a bit until we got to Marta and there was absolutely no parking. D’oh. Didn’t think of that. We managed to park in some random building parking lot and just hoped for the best.

I promised Jason that I’d stick with him throughout the race so I just let him dictate when we walk and when we run. We ran the first mile. After that, we did a bunch of “let’s run to that light and then walk for a while.” I have to stay, when we did run, we ran at a pretty decent pace. It was kind of nice to have the walk breaks. Since the Peachtree is so crowded, I’m never really that interested in making good time. There is too much weaving in and out of people to bother. It was sort of nice just to walk with my husband and talk (and try to make him run).

We ended up finishing somewhere around 1:27. Not a good time if we were running, but considering the amount of walking we did, I was fine with it.

I say this every year: the hardest part about this race is walking back to the Marta station afterward. You’re basically walking a mile uphill and it sucks! They need some shuttles or something. They did hand out ice cream sandwiches on our way out, so I guess that made up for it.

The headband worked great, by the way. I got it from Sweaty Bands.

Around six, I went over to my friend Emily’s house where she, her boyfriend and I grilled some food. I had a veggie burger, some corn and some zucchini. The plan after was to meet up with our friends Jamie and Dave at the The Sundial to watch the Centennial Olympic Park fireworks from there. That plan was quickly scrapped when we found out there was a $30 cover to get into the restaurant. I’d maybe pay $10, but not $30. So we ended up just watching the fireworks from the street.

IMG_3487.JPG

There were a ton of people there, so in order to avoid the crowd, when the show was over, we decided to see if The Sundial still had a cover. Lo and behold, it did not. I got a glass of wine and we stayed there for about an hour. The Sundial has gorgeous city views but the slow rotation always makes me feel a little queasy.

I need to get back to my laundry. We leave for Maui in the morning!

12 responses to “4th of July

  1. peachtree sounds awesome! i’ve heard great things about it. but i guess when it’s the biggest 10K, crowdedness is a given. glad you had fun 😉

  2. Oh my gosh, have SO much fun!!!! I can’t wait to see pictures!

  3. So glad yall had fun at the Peachtree!! 🙂 My sister and I walked in about 2 hours… with a restroom break in there!! And yes, post-tshirt sucks having to get back to Marta… ugh. I don’t even wanna talk about how awful of a time we had getting back to our hotel… awful…

  4. $30 cover for the restaurant?! boo! I couldn’t have justified that either!

    Great job on the run and definitely a great time with the run/walking!!

  5. Great job on the race, thats an awesome time for a mix of walking and running!! Hopefully it wasn’t too hot for your leg of it, I know it started to get pretty warm as the morning went on!

  6. Sounds like a great day. I can’t imagine running in this weather! I just spent an hour or so outdoors walking around today and am about to drop tonight. So exhausted.

  7. Nice job! I did a 10k on the 4th too, it seems like a fun tradition. Oh…and CONGRATS (Mazel Tov?) on your wedding! Your photos are beautiful, I hope you share more!

  8. HAVE FUN IN MAUI!!!!!! 🙂

  9. that is fun you guys have a 4th of july race tradition! have TONS OF FUN IN HAWAII!

  10. Whoo hoo! I mentioned to Stephen the other day that we should go to Hawaii for our honeymoon.

  11. OY! 9am? That’s awful…I think I started around that time last year and I was sooo hot and miserable by the time I was done. And, half of Atlanta was already drunk on the side of the street which made motivation REALLY hard when I just wanted to grab a beer from the spectators.