Aloha

We made it to Maui, safe and sound. We left Atlanta at 8:30 yesterday morning, flew to Dallas, had a 2-hour layover and then made the 7 hour plane ride to Maui. Jason managed to sleep at least half the flight. I couldn’t sleep at all. I listened to a This American Life podcast, read an entire book (Lit by Mary Carr), read a magazine, watched the in-flight movie (Time Traveler’s Wife) and watched most of another movie on my laptop. I tried to sleep but just couldn’t get comfortable.

When we arrived, it was about 3pm local time – 9pm Eastern Time. Needless to say, I was starving. After renting our car and driving about half an hour to our hotel, our first order of business was to get some food. We decided to just check out the resort bar and grill and see what they had.

IMG_3491.JPG

We had some grilled vegetables that were very good and the obligatory Mai Tai. I’d never had a Mai Tai before and am not sure what I thought of it.

IMG_3496.JPG
IMG_3498.JPG

After we ate our appetizer, we decided to walk to Whaler’s Village and get dinner. Whaler’s Village is an open air shopping mall that is like a five minute walk from our hotel. We checked out the shops and then decided on Cane and Taro for dinner.

I guess I shouldn’t be too quick to label myself as a vegetarian, because I had a piece of fish for my meal. When in Hawaii? Honestly, I felt really guilty about it and I preferred the vegetables that came on the plate. This is the first time I’ve eaten any sort of meat in two months. While I know that’s not that long of a time, it still felt weird. I am not sure if I will continue to eat fish on this trip or not. It is local fish, so at least I can’t feel okay about that.

I got the Kajiki. I’d never heard of that kind of fish but the way it was prepared sounded the best to me. It looks like chicken, but was definitely fish.

IMG_3513.JPG

Jason got the crab topped Mahi-Mahi.

IMG_3514.JPG

By the luck of the draw, we happened to get a table at this restaurant with awesome sunset views of the ocean.

IMG_3512.JPG

By the time we finished eating, I was fading fast. It was like 7:30pm which is 1:30 am Eastern and I’d been up since 6 am. We walked home where I passed out at 8pm and slept until 6am this morning. Jason is still asleep so I think I might head out for a run. The weather here is so beautiful. Warm, but breezy with no humidity.

13 responses to “Aloha

  1. paradise! Enjoy every minute! Glad you guys got there safe. The food looks so fresh and light. Eat what makes you feel good girl!

  2. Aloha!!! So glad yall made it safe and sound!! Enjoy every minute of it!! πŸ™‚ What a gorgeous sunset. So jealous!! πŸ™‚

  3. OMG already looks like it’s gonna be an amazing time! Enjoy it!!!

  4. Ahhhh, beautiful!!! Have a great vacation!

    How was Lit? I’ve been meaning to read it.

  5. Wow that food looks delish! Have a fabulous time! I just found your blog and I love it! You have a new follower!

    xo

  6. How did you like “Lit”? I’m a big Mary Karr fan and I loved it.

    Enjoy your honeymoon! Sounds fab!

  7. Have SO much fun, Lee!!! πŸ™‚ Maui rocks!

  8. Oh my gosh….you are in heaven! I’m so glad you made it safely and are having a wonderful time. Can’t wait to see more pictures!

  9. Maui looks incredible! You’re going to have a fab trip.

  10. Wow, you are in paradise πŸ™‚ Enjoy it girl! xoxo

  11. glad you made it safe! SO beautiful there