Day Two: Ka’anapali Run, Lahaina Walk and Beach

Since I went to bed at 8 last night, I naturally woke up a little before 6. After I played around online for a while, I decided to get my running clothes on and go for a run. I left our hotel around 7. There were a ton of people already out and about and a lot of them were runners too. I am not exactly sure how far I went. I ran on some golf course paths for a while. There were signs that said that they were only for golf carts but other people were running on them, so I didn’t think it mattered. After a while, my goody-goodiness got the best of me and I left the golf course paths for the main road. I really have no concept of how far I went. I’d say somewhere in the three mile range. It was hot out but there was a breeze and it was much easier than running in Atlanta.

After I got back, Jason and I decided to check out Lahaina. We kind of drove aimlessly until we found a main street of sorts and parked the car and walked around.

IMG_2480.JPG

We stopped at Moose McGillicuddy’s for breakfast. I had the Moose Lite which was tropical fruit with an English Muffin. Perfect. Look at all that Hawaiian pineapple!

IMG_2487.JPG

After wandering around for a while, we headed to the grocery store to get some food to have in the hotel so we wouldn’t have to eat out for every meal. I got a sandwich and Jason got sushi. Plus, Popchips. For whatever reason, we’ve been eating a ton of Popchips on this vacation. We got some other snacks too – hummus and pita, cereal, almond milk, Gatorade, etc.

After spending entirely too much money on groceries, we drove back to our hotel and got ready for the beach. Even though it was lunchtime, neither of us were hungry, so we decided to just save our food for dinner.

IMG_3530.JPG

I was totally content laying in the sand reading my book. For a few hours, I read The Art of Racing in the Rain (loved it) and went in and out of the water. Jason spent more time in the water and played with a snorkel that he bought. I tried to use it, but just couldn’t get it to work. For whatever reason, I don’t especially like snorkeling. I feel like I can’t breathe right.

After we got a few hours of sand time, we headed to the pool for a change of scenery. The hotel pool has a lazy river of sorts so we swam down it and then got out and laid on lounge chairs where I read more and Jason took a nap.

We got back to our hotel room around 5 and ate. Pretty soon after dinner, we called it a night. We had a very early day ahead of us.

4 responses to “Day Two: Ka’anapali Run, Lahaina Walk and Beach

  1. Lots of yummy looking fruit on that plate!! Is that papaya? Have another great day in Paradise!!

  2. I love me a lazy river. I don’t know why, but I just love them!

    Nice job on getting a run in while on vacation! We have tons of golf courses around us and the paths say for carts only, but people here also run and walk on them. Personally, I don’t because I fear an angry golfer plowing me down, but other people don’t have that fear and it seems totally acceptable.

  3. Lazy river… so much fun! I’m going to live vicariously through you and pretend that I’m in Hawaii. 🙂

  4. Yum! That breakfast looks soooo good! I hope you are enjoying every minute there! And, like Laura, I’m going to live vicariously through you! 🙂