Day Four: Surfing Goat Dairy and Maui’s Winery

We dubbed yesterday our educational field trip day. I wasn’t feeling like sitting by the beach and being lazy all day, so instead, we drove upcountry to the town of Kula. On the way there, we stopped at Down to Earth to get some all-natural, vegetarian grub. We’d driven past this store twice and I was really excited to stop there. It did not disappoint. I got a tasting plate from the hot bar.

IMG_2643.JPG

Jason had a veggie burger. It came with a huge bag of Baked Kettle Chips and a drink for $6.99. See, Hawaii doesn’t have to be that expensive if you know what to order. Of course, we won’t talk about how much my hot bar plate was!

IMG_2645.JPG

Our first stop was Surfing Goat Dairy. If you order anything with goat cheese on Maui, it’s pretty much going to come from this farm. They do not use any pesticides and the goats have plenty of room to roam. We took a tour of the small farm and fed the goats hay.

IMG_2692.JPG

Baaaah.

IMG_2697.JPG

After feeding the goats and touring the facility, we had to try the cheese. We got a flight of six goat cheeses.

IMG_2727.JPG

That middle one with the green flecks was my favorite. After stuffing our faces with cheese, we got back in the car and drove on a very windy road to Maui’s Winery.

IMG_2740.JPG

They gave everyone 4 free wine tastes. Jason and I shared all eight so we could sample all the wines. The winery is known for it’s pineapple wine. We bought a bottle of their best selling kind – the Splash. It was good, but very, very sweet. I’m usually more of a dry wine fan, but I liked this too, in moderation.

5 responses to “Day Four: Surfing Goat Dairy and Maui’s Winery

  1. Looks like another fun day!

    BTW, I started reading “the Art of Racing in the Rain” and read about 150 pages — so far, I LOVE it!

  2. SO cool that you went to the goat dairy farm! I bet that flight of cheeses was amazing!!

  3. Awwww, those goats are SO cute!!!! Love it!

  4. i hope you are having an amazing time on your honeymoon (will read up on my lunch break)! just quickly though, can you email me your new home address, as i want to send something but i only have your old address. thanks! and congrats again, and again, and again!

  5. awww I’m a huge fan of goats! LOL we recently saw some on a lake trip – they’re so territorial!