Day Five: Sunset Sail

I am getting a little behind on my honeymoon recaps! Now I’m two days behind.

On Friday morning, I did a short run outside, maybe just short of 2 miles. Running here is fun. It’s hot but not humid so the heat doesn’t really bother me the way it does in Atlanta. I thought about running on the beach but decided against it. When you run on the beach, do you wear your shoes? That sounds like a dumb question, but do you? If so, doesn’t sand get in them?

Anyway. After my run and some general lounging around in the morning, we decided to give Aloha Mixed Plate a try for some genuine Hawaiian food.

IMG_2778.JPG

Jason ordered some coconut shrimp to start off with. Check out the size of these suckers! I had a bite, but coconut shrimp isn’t really my thing.

IMG_2773.JPG

For my entree, I ordered the veggie stir-fry with tofu.

IMG_2774.JPG

It was good but really reminded me of the Vegetable Chop Suey at Panda Express. I used to eat that all the time when I was a teenager and worked in the mall.

Jason, always the more adventurous eater of the two of us, got some sort of Hawaiian Plate.

IMG_2775.JPG

This was some sort of bbq pork with rice, macaroni salad, poi (the brown stuff), lomi lomi salmon (the salsa looking stuff) and some sort of coconut dessert (the white stuff.) He said it was very good. I ended up eating the coconut dessert.

After lunch, we went and hung out by the pool for a while before getting ready for our sunset sail. We were excited for the cruise. When we got there, we noticed that we were some of the youngest people waiting to get on board. Hmm. We also noticed that I really should have tied my hair back!

IMG_3714.JPG

I also forgot my sunglasses. Smart. What was marketed as a romantic dinner cruise was really just a basic booze cruise around the harbor. They did have dinner, it was buffet style and served on paper plates. It was good, just not what we were expecting. There was an open bar with top shelf liquor but the harbor was like 20 miles away so we really couldn’t drink that much if we wanted to get back to our hotel after. There were pretty sunset views at least, so all was not lost.

IMG_3737.JPG

We attempted to go out in Lahaina after the cruise, but like always, I turned into a grumpy pumpkin and wanted to go to sleep. Hawaii makes Sleepy Lee make an appearance a couple of hours earlier than in Atlanta.

5 responses to “Day Five: Sunset Sail

  1. Love love hawaii. Just so beautiful. The local food looks fresh and wonderful! Glad you got a nice run in too. I enjoy running on vacation- so peaceful

  2. That food looks SO good – I love coconut shrimp! haha no sunglasses or hair ties – oh no!

  3. I am loving your honeymoon recaps! Bri and I wrote our journeys down in a journal each day to remember the trip. LOL our pictures from the sunset sail look the same- hair everywhere! So glad you are enjoying Hawaii 🙂

  4. Kath says she runs on the beach in her shoes, but I just don’t think I could do it!

    I love coconut shrimp and that stuff looks LEGIT!! 🙂

  5. Oh Lahania is pretty! My favorite beach was Ka’anapali Beach! And we explored the ENTIRE island!