Day Six: Road to Hana

The one thing that all the guidebooks told us to do was drive the road to Hana. Hana is a little town on the Eastern side of the island. It’s about 50 miles from the airport. There is nothing really in Hana, it’s just a small town with a hotel and some beaches. The drive there is what it’s all about.

We stopped at the Natural Foods store to get a picnic lunch for our trip. After that, we stopped in Paia and bought a CD about the trip that would tell us all the good places to stop. The actual road (Hana Highway) began about five miles after we left Paia.

The road was wild and twisty. They said there were something like 500 turns and 60 one way bridges. Fortunately for everyone involved, Jason did all the driving. We stopped right away, at Mile 2, to check out some waterfalls.

IMG_2814.JPG

Then, a little while later, we stopped at a park and ate our packed lunch.

IMG_2831.JPG

I’ve never seen those Yogi chips before but they were really good. I wonder if they sell them in Atlanta. Try them if you find them.

IMG_2832.JPG

We stopped at a few scenic overlooks and at an arboretum.

IMG_2833.JPG

IMG_2846.JPG

All the websites about the road said to stop at this little stand at mile 17 called Halfway to Hana. Apparently, there are known for their banana bread. Banana bread is one of those foods that I love, but don’t really let myself have very often. Being that we were in Hawaii and this banana bread was special, I couldn’t help but buy a loaf.

IMG_2860.JPG

More stopping at scenic overlooks and pretty waterfalls.

IMG_2865.JPG

IMG_2869.JPG

When we got pretty close to Hana, we stopped at a park. I was getting tired and sick of being in the car at this point, so that bright blue water came at a good time. I also could not keep my hands off that banana bread and needed a distraction. Bright blue ocean definitely worked.

IMG_2875.JPG

We made our way down to the beach. On the path down, there were these plants that people had carved their names into. I thought they looked really cool.

IMG_2915.JPG

The town of Hana was not far after the park. We had two options, we could turn around and go back or we could continue on and see some more waterfalls. It had taken us about 5 hours to get there (with all the stopping) and we both were getting sort of restless so we decided to just turn around.

The drive back to Paia only took about half the time since we didn’t stop at all. We decided that driving made us hungry and to stay in Paia for dinner. We’d heard really good things about Mama’s Fish House. At first, we weren’t going to go there, since it was expensive and we’d already had several expensive meals, but decided to say the hell with it and try it. And I’m so glad we did!

IMG_2919.JPG

I started out with a local beer – Bikini Blonde.

IMG_2924.JPG

And for my entree, I had the tofu. I know, tofu at a place known for their freshly caught fish sounds silly, right? Not at all. This was seriously the best tofu that I have had in a very long time. I could not stop talking about how good it was.

IMG_2925.JPG

If you are ever in Maui, you need to go to this restaurant. Stat.

8 responses to “Day Six: Road to Hana

  1. BEAUTIFUL! I love the names carved into the leaves. And that banana bread looks yummy! Worth the splurge for sure. Bikini Blonde? That is the cutest name for a beer ever. I want to try it!

  2. AGREED! Keith and I went to Mama’s Fish House on our honeymoon too. So good! I feel like I am going down memory lane with you!!! 🙂

  3. That sounds like a great way to spend a day. I know all the time in the car probably isn’t the best, but for all that culture and scenery…wow! All the food looks delicious too.

  4. What an awesome experience!! I bet the banana bread is amazing!! I wouldn’t have been able to pass it up either, yummm!!

  5. Great scenic photos – and that little beer looks adorable! Thanks for the referral on those yogi chips! Loving the crunch lately with my sammies! Very cool carvings on those leaves, too!

  6. OMG! I love reading about you Maui trip! My husband and I went to Maui for our honeymoon too, and it was amazing. Reading about your trip is like reliving it all over again.

    We did the Road to Hana also, but I wish I had known about the Halfway. I love some good banana bread. We drove all the way to the park at the end and hiked to the huge water fall that fed the Seven Sacred pools.

    Also, good choice on Mama’s Fish House. We ate there too, and it was Ah-Maz-Ing. Expensive, but totally worth it. I had the Macadamia cruted Mahi Mahi, Jonathan had the Ahi Tuna.

  7. Beautiful photos! I love waterfalls, especially ones in Hawaii. When Bri and I went hiking on the honeymoon we packed a picnic lunch too. It’s the way to go!

  8. What a great day! If I ever get married I want to go on my honeymoon in Hawaii!