Back to life, back to reality

I think I’ve used this post title before.

I’ll admit it; I had a bit of a post-vacation depression going on yesterday. I was just extremely sad that everything was over. It was weird that I felt that way since I’d been going on and on about getting back to my normal life, but that’s the way I felt.

It didn’t help that we came home to refrigerator that looked like this. I ate eggs and popcorn for dinner last night. For reals.

IMG_3011.JPG

I was also worrying about my new job deciding they didn’t want me while I was on vacation, having a lapse in health insurance between jobs and just generally going back to work and catching up on a bunch of emails. I’m what one might call a chronic worrier.

Fortunately, by the time I got to work, I felt better. My new job still wanted me and my inbox wasn’t overflowing too badly. Plus, even if it was, who cares? I’m out of there in a week. The health insurance thing is still an issue. I can’t seem to get an answer of when my new coverage will begin and COBRA is ridic expensive.

After work, I went to Trader Joe’s. I needed food in my house immediately. Eggs and popcorn two nights in a row just wasn’t going to cut it, plus we ran out of eggs. I picked up a lot of random stuff.

IMG_3013.JPG

What do you mean you don’t buy wine because the label is cute? Walking pancake, I’ll take it.

I decided to make Spicy Quinoa, Cucumber and Tomato salad for dinner. Of course, I didn’t follow the recipe exactly. I used red quinoa instead of regular, balsamic vinegar instead of red wine, lemon juice instead of lime juice, 2 tbsp of oil instead of 3 and goat cheese instead of avocado (TJ’s didn’t have any good ones.)

Maybe it was a little too many substitutions. This just wasn’t that great. Looks pretty though.

IMG_3019.JPG

It was also not what one would call a fast weeknight meal. I think I started cooking around 7:15 and didn’t eat until nearly 8:30. After I was finished eating, it was way too late to even think about going to the gym. Oh well. There’s always tomorrow. Plus, by some miracle, I managed not to gain any weight on my honeymoon, despite the copious amount of restaurant food.

4 responses to “Back to life, back to reality

  1. Of course they still wanted you!!!

    I can feel post-vacation depression coming on, and we haven’t even finished ours yet! Glad you made it back safely!

  2. I agree that coming home from vacation is definitely a cause for the blues…but just think now you are a Mrs. and you are going to have wedding pictures to look through! That was so fun!!

  3. I feel ya on the post vacation depression. I’m still getting over mine. Glad you had a great honeymoon though!

  4. I hate the post vacation blues. Don’t you wish life was just one big vacation every day of the year?!