Day Seven: Kaanapali Beach

Our last day in Maui was surprisingly similar to our first. I started the day off with a 2.5 mile run. I just loved running with no humidity. It makes such a difference. With no real plans on the itinerary, we decided to spend the day at the beach by our hotel. But first, I really wanted to try shaved ice from Ululani’s. This was rated the number one restaurant in Lahaina on Trip Advisor to we had to try it.

IMG_3760.JPG

If you can believe it, this was the small. Jason and I shared it and we still didn’t finish it. It was good, but very, very sweet.

After recovering from our sugar coma, we went to the beach. I read yet another book (The Year of Fog – it was okay, a good beach book) and we did some snorkeling. Or rather, I attempted to snorkel. I could not get the mask to fit my face correctly and water kept creeping in. Fortunately, I kept it on long enough to see a giant sea turtle swimming underwater. Jason saw three of them earlier in the day!

After the beach, we rinsed off, got in the pool and hot tub for a bit and went to shower and get dressed. Our hotel, the Sheraton Maui, has a nightly cliff diving ceremony that we kept missing all week. We were determined to see it. We got dressed and made our way down to the Cliff Dive bar where we got some drinks and those grilled vegetables.

The cliff diving was cool but kind of anti-climatic. A guy ran to the cliff, lit some torches and dove off. And I didn’t even get a good picture. I did get some nice sunset shots though which are still on my camera and I’m too lazy to transfer right now.

Like our first night, we walked over to Whaler’s Village to get dinner. This time, we went to Hula grill. They had this good foccacia bread to start with (I have eaten my body weight in bread this trip) and then I got the Tofu tower for my meal.

IMG_3763.JPG

It was good, but no Mama’s Fish House tofu. After dinner, we walked on the beach a little bit and went back to our hotel.

I can’t believe our honeymoon is over. I am actually typing this from somewhere in the air between Maui and LA. I didn’t spring for the in-flight internet, so I will have to publish it later.

I got really sad leaving Maui. I just didn’t want it to end. It’s like the past month has been so full of exciting events and now, bam, it’s over. I know that I said that I wanted my normal life back and all of that, and I do, but it just feels weird that I have no big event to look forward to now. This is kind of how I feel when I complete a race. But the thing with that is that I can always just sign up for another, I can’t sign up for another honeymoon. I mean, unless someone wants to donate one.

We did get our wedding photos back and they are amazing. I will post some when I get back to Atlanta.

6 responses to “Day Seven: Kaanapali Beach

  1. I would be sad to leave, too! It’s Maui!! That snow cone is HUGE — but beautiful šŸ™‚ You need a big one to get the rainbow on it!

    Post some wedding pictures! I love all things wedding…a lot!

  2. I am so glad your honeymoon was so memorable! I can’t wait to see wedding pictures! šŸ™‚

  3. It flies by in the blink of an eye, doesn’t it? My husband and I FORGOT to try the shaved ice when we were there. I can’t believe that is a small!

    Aren’t the sea turtles fascinating? Bri and I scuba dive so we were able to see them sleeping about 30 feet down. It was amazing.

    Save travels!

  4. I’m glad your was memorable and wonderful and sorry it had to come to an end šŸ˜¦
    Can’t wait to see more pictures!

  5. It does go by fast, BUT you have a whole lifetime ahead of you filled with anniversary trips and trips just because!! šŸ™‚ Looking forward to your wedding pics!! šŸ™‚

  6. That snowcone looks AMAZING! What a fantastic trip!