Tired

I’m tired. We had to sleep in the guest room last night because the walls of our bedroom were covered with primer and stunk up the room. But the real reason that I didn’t sleep well was because I was nervous about my new job. I have had a lot of jobs and the first day never gets any easier. I hate not knowing what’s going on and feeling so inept. I felt like this was my first job ever all day. I know that I’ll get it and it just takes time, but I hate this feeling of not knowing what the hell is going on. I keep reminding myself that I’ve felt like this at every job and that I’ve always gotten over it. You’d think I’d be used to it by now. I have had a lot of jobs since college:

Graphic Designer – Newspaper
Graphic Designer – Real Estate Magazine
Pre-press Operator – Printing Company
Production Manager – Magazine
Production Manager – Non-Profit
Production Coordinator – Media Buying Company
Graphic Designer – Publishing Company (New job)

Anyway, the point of that was that, coupled with a 3-mile after work, I’m tired and don’t really have the energy to write anything of interest.

I’m going to see Dave Matthews Band tomorrow night. I think I’ve probably seen them around 25 times. Really.

Is there a band you have seen numerous times? How many jobs have you had?

16 responses to “Tired

  1. ha.. i’ve seen Drivin’ N’ Cryin’ (and/or Kevn Kinney) more times than you’ve seen DMB!

    Guess that doesn’t really count though, since DMB doesn’t really play bars anymore.

  2. I babysat all through high school and college. I worked briefly at a CVS during HS, but it was miserable… As an adult I’ve always been a first grade teacher, but have taught at 2 different schools.

    Have fun at DMB! I’ve seen them once. But I’ve seen the DMB cover band countless times… have you ever seen them? They’re from Athens, but I don’t think they play together anymore. The guy who played violin went on to play for the Zac Brown Band – I think.

  3. HOpe you had fun at DMB!! Starting a new job is always so stressful, no matter how many times you’ve done it. You’ll get used to it soon!

  4. livelaughloveandrun

    Good luck at the new job! I’ve seen Dave a bunch of times too.. I don’t think I’m close to 25 though!

  5. I’ve had three jobs since college, but I agree, starting a new job is always nerve-wracking! I think it takes about 6 months to feel comfortable, and a year to feel useful. Good luck with the transition!

  6. I love sleeping in my guest room. I know that sounds odd but it is my favorite room. I LOVE how it is decorated, I love the bed, I love the windows in that room. HAHA! Truth, whenever Keith goes out of town and I am home for the weekend alone I ALWAYS sleep in the guestrooms!

  7. Aw, I hope you are feeling better. It is completely normal to feel overwhelmed and inept on the first day of the job. Heck, the first few months even. Since graduating law school, I’ve had two jobs- a one year clerkship and my current job, which I’ve been at for almost two years. Prior to that I’ve held a ton of jobs.

    I love seeing Dave in concert! Haven’t been since college though. I am definitely going to see Coldplay whenever they come to the area- their concert last year was AWESOME!

  8. This too shall pass. And you know that as you’ve had a lot of great jobs with great experience. Hang in there!!

    Fun! My friend Lindsey is in town for Dave. She loves seeing them. I try not to see the same band more than once, but am seeing 311 this Halloween for the second time. 🙂

  9. I hate knowing this is causing you such stress. Give it time and it will come together. You are so smart and such a hard worker there is no way you won’t be able to handle it.

  10. I’ve seen the Dropkick Murphys around 5 times – those were always fun shows 🙂

    Hope your new job is going well 🙂

  11. I’ve seen DMB more than once. I’ve seen the Foo Fighters, Pearl Jam, And Weezer all more than once. Oh, and I have seen Poison about half a dozen times! What can I say? They put on a good show for cheap!

  12. Hi Lee! First days are always nerve-wracking. I hope that its going well, though!

    I’ve seen Dave Matthews Band a ton of times as well. Have fun!

  13. I’ve seen The Goo Goo Dolls twice.

  14. I saw Something Corporate 5 times during High School, and I’m going to see them again in 2 weeks…haha talk about coming full circle. Now, I haven’t had too many jobs (seeing as I just graduated) but I totally understand the uneasy feeling of the first day. I hope it wears off soon and you start loving your new position!

  15. I’ve only had a few jobs….as an ice-cream server, and as a server in Olive Garden and Red Lobster. Nothing as fancy as yours!

    I hope you got a good rest, Lee. And enjoy your umpteenth time seeing the band!

  16. i’m sure you’ll get the hang of it very soon! i was all nerves my first day too, but in the UK they are very kind to new starters. i don’t think i got any actual work for like 1 1/2 weeks. same for my previous job, but my first job in the states, the whip was out by the second day, for a book publisher as well, so i know how you feel. but you’ll come through with flying colours, i’m sure.

    didn’t i see DBM with you like twice? or was it just once at merriweather post pavillion? oh that’s right the other time was at the tibetan freedom concert when lightning struck the crowd right after their set! remember!