TJ’s semi-fail

Obviously, Trader Joe’s holds a place in my heart, but sometimes their food just isn’t as good as some name brand stuff. Case in point, I made another easy weeknight meal. Mexican tortilla pizza.

IMG_3155.JPG

This was a La Tortilla tortilla with TJ’s brand fat-free refried beans, TJ’s brand Garlic Salsa, mushrooms, onions, peppers, TJ’s brand meatless chicken strips and 2% cheddar cheese. It was good, but honestly, I would have preferred it with Old El Paso fat-free refried beans and Morningstar Farms fake chicken strips. Oh well, can’t win them all. I also didn’t love this kind of salsa, but I won’t blame that on Trader Joe’s. I know they have some good salsas, I just picked a not-so great one.

Have there been any Trader Joe fails lately for you? This wasn’t a fail, per se. I didn’t throw anything away, but I wouldn’t buy the fake chicken strips again, that’s for sure.

I haven’t been talking about running lately. I tend to slack in that department during the summer. I know that some people run in the heat, but I’m not one of them! 97 degrees and humid, no thank you! I have been running at the gym though trying to build up my base (ugh) to start half-marathon training next week. I don’t think I’m going to do the Raleigh race anymore. My sister hasn’t been running at all and will take more than 12 weeks to get up to 13.1 miles. Oh well. Maybe next year I can do it with her. I do think that I’m going to run the Silver Comet Half for the third time. It’s about 12.5 weeks away, so I need to get started! I ran 2 miles tonight and 3 yesterday so I think that’s a decent start. I might try to do a 5-mile long run this weekend. Actual training begins next week.

I actually like training for races. Well, until right up to the race when I tend to burn out. I just like having a goal in mind. In my mind, if I follow the plan, I can run the race. If I don’t follow the plan, I won’t be able to run the race, at least not well. That motivation really helps me get my butt to the gym. If I’m not training for anything, I tend to gravitate towards something easier (i.e elliptical) instead.

14 responses to “TJ’s semi-fail

  1. Sigh. We live nowhere near a TJ’s, so I would gladly take a TJ fail, ha!! πŸ™‚

  2. My TJ’s fails usually involve their produce… it goes bad so quickly!

  3. I have had a few TJ fails… one was when I bought some muffins, brought them home and there was mold on the bottoms of them all THAT DAY!!

  4. Oh, exciting to start half training. And I don’t get how people run in this heat either. They are crazy!

    I can’t think of anything from TJs that has been a fail for me. But then again I haven’t been able to make it there to shop in awhile. I need to go. I miss it.

  5. Yeah I can’t run outside in the heat either, i’ve been on the treadmill since the second week of july. hopefully it starts to cool off soon.

  6. I feel the same way about training- I love it! Except for when I start to get injured in the week or two prior. We are definitely in the same boat.

    TJs fails- nope, can’t think of any πŸ˜€ Then again, I only get to go here and there when I’m visiting my mother in law or something- there aren’t any near me! (sadface). I LOVE their peach salsa and peanut butter pretzels. And two (three?) buck chuck. Ah. Love me some TJs.

  7. Lots of TJ produce fails! I won’t buy produce there anymore except for bananas.

    I’m the same way with training especially at the gym. The treadmill is so dull but I’m almost always great if I deem it okay to run outside (not too hot and not too cold). I really like to mix up my machines like 15 min run on treadmill, 15 min on elliptical, 15 min on stairmaster. It’s great for people with ADD like me πŸ™‚

  8. I’ve not had much TJ fail, but I heard that their produce is sub-par to others. I’ve mostly had successes with their stuff, though!

  9. I’m with Laura Dishes – their produce DOES go bad quickly, especially the arugula salad. Also, the fresh tortillas and bread go bad in a snap. Does that ount as a fail?!

  10. I’m with you on the TJ’s refried beans. Have you tried the refried black beans with jalepenos that they have? Those are pretty good.

  11. I haven’t had much luck with TJs salsa either. But I LOVE their refried beans. Running in the summer is tough- you either have to go outside wayyyyyy early or wayyyy late. I’m sure you’ll get back on a good plan come the slightly cooler weather. Hope you have a good weekend

  12. I just found your blog! I’m at Atlanta too. I look forward to reading more πŸ™‚

    Trader Joe’s failure for me was actually some sushi last night. Not the best…

  13. Still looks great though! I guess that does not help any lol. I can’t do great workouts with out some sort of goal in mind I throw in the towel way to easily. Not really sure how to fix that ha