Training begins and new bedroom

My half-marathon training started this week. I’m going to run the Silver Comet Half-Marthon for the third time. Originally, I wanted to run a half in Raleigh with my sister, but she’s not trained and I don’t see her keeping up with a training plan during the fall while she’s in school. Kind of a bummer, but at least I can run one at home.

Yesterday, I ran a great 3-mile run. I felt really, really good. I ran the first mile at 5.8mph and the second two at 6.0mph. I love it when I have a really good run. It makes up for all the crappy ones! Tonight, I did speedwork – 5 x 400’s at a 5K pace. I did the speed portions at 6.5 mph which is faster than I’ve ever run a 5K, but it’s the speed that I aspire to run one day. The run wasn’t as good as yesterday, but it was fine.

After dinner, I felt motivated to cook. I have had some tofu in my fridge for a week and a half so I googled tofu recipes and came up with Tofu Parmigiana.

IMG_3191.JPG

With a side of mushrooms.

IMG_3199.JPG

Hello cheese! This was very good. It kind of tasted like lasagna. Here’s the original recipe and after, the changes that I made to it.

Ingredients

1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs
5 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
2 teaspoons dried oregano, divided
salt to taste
ground black pepper to taste
1 (12 ounce) package firm tofu
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1 clove garlic, minced
4 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese
Directions

1. In a small bowl, combine bread crumbs, 2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese, 1 teaspoon oregano, salt, and
black pepper.
2. Slice tofu into 1/4 inch thick slices, and place in bowl of cold water. One at a time, press tofu slices into crumb mixture, turning to coat all sides.
3. Heat oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. Cook tofu slices until crisp on one side. Drizzle with a bit more olive oil, turn, and brown on the other side.
4. Combine tomato sauce, basil, garlic, and remaining oregano. Place a thin layer of sauce in an 8 inch square baking pan. Arrange tofu slices in the pan. Spoon remaining sauce over tofu. Top with shredded mozzarella and remaining 3 tablespoons Parmesan.
5. Bake at 400 degrees F (205 degrees C) for 20 minutes.

For one, I pressed the tofu for about 15 minutes under a heavy book. Then, I did not put it in water. I felt that was a dumb thing to do. Tofu is wet enough already and it would sort of counteract the fact that I pressed it. Instead of pan-frying the tofu, I baked it for 10 minutes. I can never get the right texture when I try to pan fry tofu, so I didn’t use any oil. I also only used 2 tbsp of parmesan cheese instead of 5.

Sounds like a lot of changes, but they all worked.

So, our room is 90% finished! All we need to do is install a ceiling fan and get some pictures on the wall. Here is the before picture. Please ignore the huge mess.

IMG_3099.JPG

And here is the after.

IMG_3179.JPG

IMG_3178.JPG

Big difference, isn’t it? I feel like it looks like a real master bedroom. Here’s what we did:
• painted the wall Sterling Gray (Behr Premium Paint)
• painted the ceiling
• painted the trim
• took off the old baseboard and installed new ones
• got a new door (not pictured, but our old one broke)
• installed mini blinds and curtains
• bought a new bedroom suite which included bed, mattress, dresser, mirror and two matching nightstands. We also bought matching bedside lamps and a large floor vase.

Definitely a big project, but we really needed it. Thanks, wedding money.

18 responses to “Training begins and new bedroom

  1. Your bedroom looks beautiful! I love the colors. It is so zen.

    You gave me an idea to maybe post my room before and afters. Do you mind if I do that?

  2. The bedroom looks WONDERFUL! I love every change you guys made! And that tofu lasagna….I am totally intrigued! I am going to make that!

  3. *parmigiana

    🙂

  4. Wow– those bedroom changes look GREAT!! It’s so much more “styled” now!

  5. MMmmmm, that tofu parmigiana looks soooo good!! I never would have thought of that!

    And your bedroom looks great!!!! Yall sure have been working hard!!

  6. Wow, that parmigiana looks delicious!

    I LOVE your “after” picture! It looks so crisp and clean. And I really like your bedroom furniture, too!

  7. Your dish looks amazing! My cousin is a vegetarian and I am forwarding her the receipe right now! As for your room…congrats! Your hard work really is beautiful! You have very nice taste in style!

  8. Hooray for half marathon training! Great job on the running. The room looks beautiful!

  9. LOVE the black, white, and grey. Such a classy look. I want it for my room!

    And what a cool way to use tofu. I’m going to have to try tofu in an Italian way sometime. Looks great.

  10. The new room is beautiful! You did a great job 🙂

  11. Yum, that recipe sounds so good – and unique!

    Your bedroom looks great! Definitely a huge improvement. 🙂

  12. wow, what a great room makeover!

  13. OMG! That’s the same room?! You did a fantastic job, Lee! It looks brand new, and so chic!

  14. oh wow your room looks great! i love transformation photos. 🙂

    i own a wacom tablet.. but i actually just use my regular mouse! i’ve got a mac, so the mouse is pretty smooth. 🙂 it took me a long time to master it. i usually use the pencil tool, draw a line and then use the smoothing pencil underneath it to get the straightness or curves that i need. 🙂 and i use the pen tool to connect them all. If that makes sense? haha

  15. Wow! That’s gorgeous! Where did you get the comforter with the cherry blossoms on them?

  16. I absolutely love the comforter!! I’m a huge Macy’s fan. I’ve found all my bedroom linens there for decent prices 🙂 Very HGTV!!