PSA

Here’s a public service announcement:

When you have an ipod that’s on the older side, it’s not really a good idea to keep it in the [hot Georgia] car when you aren’t using it. Does bad things for the battery, like kills it. After several weeks of pondering why my nano battery wouldn’t hold a charge anymore, I realized that it was the combination of it being 3.5 years old and living in my car’s console. Umm, oops on that part. So today, I had to say bye-bye to Poddie and hello to Irene Pod.

IMG_3310.JPG

Mrs. Pod, I promise I won’t leave you in the car, even if it’s really convenient to do so.

I didn’t get a chance to transfer my music to my new ipod yet, but that was okay since today was a strength training day. It doesn’t really bother me to listen to the gym’s music when I’m lifting weights. Listening to the gym’s music while I run, well, that’s whole different ball game.

I did a full body workout:

Lat pulldowns – 57.5 lbs, 3 sets of 8
Seated rows – 45 lbs, 3 sets of 8
Shoulder presses – 30 lbs, 3 sets of 8
Chest flyes – 45 lbs, 3 sets of 8
Tricep extensions – 20 lbs, 3 sets of 8
bicep curls – 25 lbs, 3 sets of 8
machine leg curl – 45 lbs, 3 sets of 8
step-ups, body weight, 2 sets of 12
1-legged calf raises, body weight, 2 sets of 20 each leg
30 walking lunges

My workout today was very machine heavy which is not that common. I usually spend more time in the free weight section, but I just wasn’t feeling it today. The gym closest to my new house is always missing a bunch of free weights. I don’t know where people are taking them and hiding them, but they are. It’s also insanely hot. It’s a two-floor gym and the cardio equipment is on the top floor. Umm, doesn’t heat rise?

After the gym, I made dinner. I made Garbanzo stir-fry from allrecipes.com

IMG_3304.JPG

Ingredients

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon chopped fresh oregano
1 tablespoon chopped fresh basil
1 clove garlic, crushed
ground black pepper to taste
1 (15 ounce) can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
1 large zucchini, halved and sliced
1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
1 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro
1 tomato, chopped

Directions

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Stir in oregano, basil, garlic, and pepper. Add the garbanzo beans and zucchini, stirring well to coat with oil and herbs. Cook, covered, for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Stir in mushrooms and cilantro, and cook until tender, stirring occasionally. Place the chopped tomato on top of the mixture. Cover, and let the tomatoes steam for a few minutes, but don’t let them get mushy. Serve immediately.

Serves 4

I used 1 tbsp of oil instead of two and dried herbs instead of fresh, but other than that, I followed the recipe. Did you know that when substituting dried herbs for fresh, a good rule of thumb is to use 1 tsp of dried herbs for every 1 tbsp of fresh herbs called for? I just learned that.

Since this was really a side dish, I ate two servings along with a serving of refried beans that had been in the fridge for a while. Yes, I ate beans with a side of beans. Sorry, Jason. I apologize in advance.

12 responses to “PSA

  1. Yikes – after I post this comment I’m going out to get my Ipod from the car…hopefully I won’t need a new one as well!

    Great workout! How’s work going? More smoothly I hope!

  2. Sorry about the iPod! That stinks! Oh and there are never too many beans with dinner! Best food ever! Ok, and I was laughing my butt off at the onion goggles in the last post! That is brilliant. I always use cutting onions as a way to release a good cry!

  3. I keep mine in the car too! Oops. Congrats on your new iPod though.

    I get so frustrated when free weights are missing!

  4. That stinks about the iPod, but those things aren’t very durable anyway.

    That side dish looks awesome! I might have to copy it!

  5. That happened to my first iPod, it sucks! I just got that Nano in purple for my birthday, I love it!

  6. I don’t use an iPod, but Andrew does. I’ll have to pass along the PSA. Thanks!! Have a great weekend!! šŸ™‚

  7. My Nano lasted about 3 or 4 years and died. So, I’m impressed yours lasted this long!

  8. Well, at least your new i-pizzle is pretty šŸ™‚

    That chick pea dish looks yummy – nice & full of veggies!

  9. lmao. I hope the stink was tolerable. Poor Jason.

  10. hhaha- I’ve had so many nights of beans with a side of beans. Looks fabulous to me! My old ipod recently died recently too. I claim over use! I need to get a nice new one…but for now I’m using Josh’s old ipod

  11. I’ve lost two ipods that were left in the car in GA…but, not because of the heat. Both were stolen. You would think I owuld have learned after the first time…