Key to the weekend

I have discovered that the key to having an enjoyable weekend is to go to the gym (or run outside) as soon as I wake up. As tempting as it may be to laze around for several hours in the morning, it makes the day so much better to work out first thing because I don’t have it looming overhead all day and I can do other things without thinking about when I’m going to the gym. Case in point, I would not have been able to do the following today if I hadn’t gone to the gym at 10 am:

• had lunch with my friend Erin
• returned some wedding gifts to Macy’s and bought new pillows
• did two loads of laundry
• went to the Farmer’s Market

Oh, hmm, it felt like I did a lot more than that. But my point is that if I hadn’t of gone to the gym first, I would have wasted several hours in the day doing absolutely nothing and I wouldn’t have been able to be as productive.

So, speaking of the Farmer’s Market, it’s kind of misnomer for where I went. I mean, technically, it’s called Your Dekalb Farmer’s Market (but no one calls it “your”) but it’s really sort of like a big warehouse with lots of produce and lots of people. It’s cool, it really is. There is a ton of produce that I’ve never seen in my life. But it’s so freakin’ crowded on the weekends that it’s really more frustrating than anything. THey have a lot of organic foods but not so much local stuff. All of the peaches seemed to be from California. I mean, really? This is Georgia, there should be local peaches! But I did managed to get some cool stuff anyway, including:

• bok choy
• kale
• organic strawberries
• red peppers
• canned pumpkin
• canned sweet potoates
• chia muffins
• Mary’s Gone Crackers
and some other stuff that I’m forgetting. It’s pretty cheap too.

That chia muffin was bomb. I’m sure it’s not very good for you. They bake the muffins and bread there so there are no nutritional facts on them. I’m just going to pretend it’s healthy. It was damn good.

I want to share with you something that I’ve been obsessed with eating for the past week. Zucchini pasta! I got this idea from Emily at The Front Burner.

IMG_3329.JPG

Basically, all you do is peel the zucchini into strands using a vegetable peeler. What’s pictured is two small zucchini. After I peeled it, I heated up 1 tsp of olive oil and cooked the zucchini in it with some sea salt for about 3-4 minutes, stirring the whole time. And that’s it! I topped mine with pasta sauce and goat cheese. So good! It’s kind of embarrassing how many times I’ve eaten this in the past week. Zucchini is so cheap and abundant now.

Oh, I remember what else I did today that felt productive. I FINISHED our thank you notes! Yes!!

11 responses to “Key to the weekend

  1. Your zucchini pasta looks great! I’ll have to give that a try!!

  2. You’re definitely right – its way too easy to waste a bunch of time on the weekends just vegging around. Working out first thing is a great idea. 🙂

    I still need to try zucchini pasta too – yum.

  3. I LOVE the Dekalb Farmer’s Market! And those Chia muffins are amazing! I love the cheapness of it, too…once I got a whole pineapple for $1.99 and you can buy quinoa in bulk pretty inexpensively.

  4. Nice job on the productivity! I LOVE the idea of going to the gym first thing – need to start doing it on the weekends. Hard to get the motivation but it DOES make me feel better when I do that!

  5. What strikes me here is that you said youw ent to the gym right after you woke up — at 10 am!! My god, to sleep so late! I can hardly fathom that anymore.

  6. Scratching the thank yous off the list is such a weight off the shoulders. Those little tasks always seem to be looming overhead.

    LOVE the Dekalb Farmer’s Market. Very cool place with lots of good finds. It is odd though that they don’t have more local things. I never really noticed that before.

  7. I have a fierce love for Farmer’s markets and I wanted to get to Atlanta this summer and see a big one. I love our Pepper Place market in Birmingham. They had a lot of Georgia produce! I could have spent all day…well until it got to above 95*

    Cross that task off your list in a big huge sharpie. Those things take forever!!

  8. I couldn’t agree more, but it’s soooo hard to wake up and get that workout in! I do have way, way more productive weekend days when I do, though!

    Congrats on the thank you’s. I remember that took FOR-EVER!

  9. Okay, I have to be totally honest: I get sort of a negative knee-jerk reaction when I see zucchini “pasta” because most of the time it’s because of carbphobic reasons. But gotta admit that they are sort of cool. And super delicious. I’m glad you didn’t have it raw, though.

  10. GAH you are putting me to shame… I have not finished my thank you cards yet and I got married before you. LOL