All signed up

After reading Anna’s blog this morning, I immediately signed up for the half-marathon that I’ve been training for. It wouldn’t have been the worst thing in the world if it was sold out since there are like 3 other fall half marathons here. But I am happy to do the Silver Comet again because I really think I can PR this year.

I’ve been following Hal Higdon’s intermediate training plan. The intermediate plan has me running 5 days a week which, for me, is too much. So I’ve just been taking one of the shorter run days as a rest day. Seems like it’ll be fine. I know from experience that if I run 5 days a week, I’m going to burn out. Not the best way to get a PR!

Today I did 3.5 miles. I kept it at an easy 5.8mph pace. Sometimes I forget that I don’t need to push myself for every single run. That’s what speedwork and tempo runs are for.

I went Trader Joe’s tonight and an interesting new product – guacamole hummus! Yum, a combination of my two favorite foods, I’ll take it. Have you found any new Trader Joe’s products lately?

12 responses to “All signed up

  1. Congrats on being all signed up – that’s great!

    I was just thinking that I need to make a Trader Joe’s trip. Guacamole hummus might just be the thing to get me there. 🙂

  2. I have not been to Trader Joe’s in a while… that guacamole hummus sounds fabulous! Good luck with you half marathon training!

  3. Congrats on signing up! Sometimes that alone provides a huge boost of motivation.

  4. Congrats on the sign up!! Oooh can’t wait to hear about that product – sounds amazing!

    Thanks for the link – i’ve been playing around and have made a running plan that I think will work for me – i’m going to post it tomorrow. Can’t wait for your feedback!!

  5. hooray! good for you.

  6. Congrats on signing up for the marathon! That is exciting! I am itching to get to TJ’s hopefully soon. I want peanut flour and I hear they have it.

  7. Guacamole hummus?! That sounds delicious!! I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for that!!

  8. i still want you to come & race in raleigh 🙂 someday i hope!

    • Are there any other half-marathons in Raleigh besides the one in October that I was thinking of doing? I promise I will come to Raleigh before my sister graduates college! So, that means before 2012!

  9. That is awesome you’re doing another 1/2 – you’re so dedicated!

    Ummmm I am definitely going to have to pick up that Guac Hummus. Because I seriously LOVE both of those things.

    My new favorite (well, new to me) at TJ’s is their crumbled goat cheese. SO delicious!

  10. Have you ran the silver comet before?? I can’t believe you are doing it too! 🙂