Signs that I’m old

My 22-year old brother is coming to visit this weekend. I bought him a ticket to one of his favorite bands, Sound Tribe Sector 9, for a graduation present. He graduated from the University of Maryland in May. I knew that he liked this band and I figured that since they were playing here in Atlanta, it would be a fun thing for us to do together and for him to come see my new house.

Here’s where the old part comes in. The concert starts at 5! There are several opening bands (including Big Boi from Outkast which I’m kind of excited about.) But going to a concert from 5-11pm just isn’t that appealing to me and I’m afraid that I’m going to be bored! Plus, he mentioned that he wanted to go out and experience Atlanta nightlife afterward. I’m all for showing him stuff, but at 8pm, not midnight! There is no way that I’m going to feel like going out after driving home from this concert which is 40 minutes away! It really does come down to this – I’m old. While I know I’m not OLD, I really have no interest in doing some things that I used to like and I’d much rather be in my bed at midnight than be at a bar.

Speaking of my bed, last night we had some strong rain and Murphy stood in the bed all night. Yes, stood. He gets really freaked out when it thunderstorms and barks and whines and has to be with us. Then he cannot relax and often just stands on the bed. Murphy weighs 60 pounds. It doesn’t provide a good night’s sleep when he’s standing over me! Poor guy. I wish I knew how to ease his storm fears.

Any fun plans this weekend?

9 responses to “Signs that I’m old

  1. Hahah- I totally feel the same way sometimes πŸ™‚ Josh will tell me about an event that we have to go to thats supposed to last until 11…I’m like 11? Gosh, then we won’t be in bed until after midnight. Such a grandma πŸ˜‰ Awww- poor puppers. I don’t think Frank even notices thunderstorms haha…not the brightest bulb

  2. HAHA- I’m the same way, but I’ve been going out way too much now that I’m single. I’m much rather stay in, but I know that I’m not going to meet anyone when I’m sitting on the couch. πŸ™‚

    Take your brother to Crescent Avenue in Midtown!!!

  3. Haha, I have a 22 year old brother too and its definitely the same way. I get tired just thinking about his schedule!

    I’m trying hot yoga for the first time this weekend – I’m pumped.

  4. i think im older. big boi & outkast were just here, at a FREE concert, and i didn’t go.. because i am old. haha

  5. Oh my goodness, I am definitely too old for staying out late anymore! πŸ˜‰ It’s sad, but I really can’t remember the last time we were out late at a party… maybe Andrew’s 30th back in March?? Yikes, I’m an old lady for sure!! πŸ™‚

  6. I am older than you…I hate going out like that! I hope you had a good night with your brother. I was holding my eyelids up with toothpicks at 11pm last night.

    As for you question about school…I studied culinary arts at The Art Institute. Tony, my husband, is an illustrator (he does some design work too).

  7. Hi Lee!
    I just saw your message on my “blog” (I put it in quotes cause I haven’t been doing too much blogging lately). Anywho…we DO have a lot in common (Maryland, early 30’s, Atlanta…AND we’re both engaged!!!) Neat! Oh yeah…and I was old even when I was in my twenties! I hope that you had fun! Glad that you found my blog, so that I could find yours. I’ll be keeping up with your posts!

  8. Wait! I just read your About page again…you’re a step ahead of me and you’re already married! Congrats!