Weekend with my brother

I had a fun weekend, hanging out with my brother who drove 11 hours from Maryland. (He said he likes to drive. Personally, I would have flown, but whatever.)

Before Eric got here, Jason and I had dessert for dinner. Let me explain. A new frozen yogurt shop, Menchie’s, opened dangerously close to my office. Their grand opening was Friday and they were giving away free frozen yogurt all night. Frozen yogurt + free = I’m there!

IMG_0113.JPG

They had about 10 different self-serve flavors. And a toppings bar with crazy toppings like Pop Rocks!

IMG_0115.JPG

Jason was excited too. Well, not really. I have more of a sweet tooth while he has… a meat tooth?

IMG_0114.JPG

He did enjoy his yogurt. As did I. I had a combination of peanut butter, pralines and cream, red velvet cake and cake batter with some random fruit and graham cracker crumb toppings.

IMG_0116.JPG

The original plan was to have dinner after dessert, but we were so full from the yogurt that we realized that it had become dinner instead. Oh well. We just went home and waited for my brother to arrive.

On Saturday, we all just hung out for a bit until Jason had to go to work. Then, Eric, his friend Michelle and I drove up to Alpharetta (about 40 minutes) to go to the concert. We got there pretty early and hung out in the parking lot for a while. Honestly, I had more fun doing that than going to the actual show. It was nice to spend time and talk with Eric. Since he lives in Maryland, we only see each other a couple times a year.

I’d never heard any of the band’s music. It was definitely a hippie type of show. And a younger hippie type of show at that. I think that the median age of the people there was probably around 22. I felt a little out of place. Especially when I was asking someone next to us about the college sticker on her car and telling her that one of my best friend’s went there. She asked what her name was and I said, “You don’t know her. She graduated 9 years ago.” I got a blank, “you’re old” look!

The show was fun and the music was good, but it was a long day and I managed to fall asleep at the concert. Sad thing is that this is not the first time that’s happened! The show ended around midnight and we were all beat so we just went home.

This morning, I wanted to show Eric and Michelle the city a little bit before they left since all they’d seen was the suburb where I live and the suburb where the concert venue was. I decided that a trip to The Vortex was in order. This is basically where I take a lot of out of town guests because it’s a fun, unique restaurant and they have really great burgers. Well, according to Jason, they do. They have good veggie burgers too. Atlanta is a pretty decent vegetarian town. In fact, PETA recently ranked it Number 4 for Vegetarian Friendliness in a big city. My hometown of Washington, DC was ranked number 1.

They all had burgers and I had veggie chili. We walked around Little Five Points for a while before driving back to my house so they could be on their way. Short trip. šŸ˜¦

I really had a fun time hanging out with my brother. I wish he stayed for longer. Although, I was able to take a nap and go to the gym and just relax after they left.

I did a 3-mile treadmill run at the gym. I definitely feel like my shorter, weekday runs are getting much, much easier. Phew. I hate that feeling when you first start training after being a running slacker and you worry that it’s never going to feel easy again.

After my run, I cooked some portobello mushrooms for dinner. I used this recipe for the marinade and marinated them for about 20 minutes, while I took a shower. Then I baked them for about 10 minutes at 400 in the toaster oven.

IMG_3360.JPG

I bet these would be really good on the grill too.

Do you live close to your family? My mother and father and stepmother also live in Maryland, although my dad and stepmom are talking about moving to Florida. My sister lives in Raleigh, NC where she goes to school. Sometimes it’s hard living so far from them, but it means that I get a lot of visitors throughout the year. My dad is actually coming to visit me in October.

13 responses to “Weekend with my brother

  1. I’m jealous of the fro-yo place – we have a serious lack of them here.

    So glad you had a good weekend with your brother. My family lives about 3.5 hours away. Not too bad at all.

    I definitely would agree that Atlanta is very vegetarian friendly – it was great when I was there. šŸ™‚

  2. We are getting that same froyo place in Charleston! I cannot wait !!! Looks so good. Froyo for dinner? I’d be all over that! Glad you had fun at the concert with your bro (despite falling asleep ;)). I really want to come to ATL some time.

  3. I live close to all my family except my brother. He lives in Arizona. It stinks but we always have a good time when we see him. Your weekend sounds great. The Vortex is a good place to bring people. It’s definitely got a unique quality. šŸ˜‰

    Also, how did I NOT know about free fro-yo. That is sooo up my alley!

  4. mmm those mushrooms look SO tasty! looks like you guys had fun šŸ™‚

  5. see, that is my issue with self-serve froyo – i want to try everything & end up with a mish-mosh! free is amazing, though šŸ™‚

  6. Glad you had a good weekend with your bro!

    I SO wish we would get a yogurt place like that šŸ˜¦

  7. What a great weekend! hehe love that he works hard and plays hard – paint on the back? LOL The yogurt place looks so good! Love all of the spots you took your bro too – you rock. Most of my family lives in the southeast so not too far!

  8. Mmm… frozen yogurt. I love Yoforia (over in Brookhaven) right now!

    I actually moved to Atlanta after my parents and brother did. One of my sisters still lives in PA, and the other one lives in Charleston!

  9. Dangit, I wish we had a Menchie’s here! Maybe someday.

    I’m glad you had a great weekend with your brother! It’s funny, most of the hippies I know are VERY smart. Just goes to show, looks can be deceiving…

    My immediate family lives within 10 minutes of me – sick, right? šŸ™‚ And most of my extended family lives about 2.5 hours away.

  10. How fun! I am definitely going to have to check out this Menchie’s place!!

    My family all lives in the metro Atlanta area. I would be sad without them!!

  11. Free froyo? I can imagine having to fight the crowds there!

    I live alone…all alone in the west coast. All my family is either 5 hours plane ride away on the east coast, or across the ocean in Korea.