Mediterranean Stuffed Peppers

This week has gone by so slowly for me. I feel like today should be Friday night, not Thursday. At least it’s a long weekend, right? And, not only that, but I get to spend Saturday and Monday with my husband which is unusual because he works a weird schedule. We might check out the Decatur Book Festival on Saturday.

I ran 3.5 miles after work tonight. And it was yucky. For one thing, I had some wine last night at the Meat Restaurant. But what really made the run crappy was that I made the wonderful decision to wear pants. It’s still 95 degrees out and it’s still really hot in the gym. I don’t know what I was thinking. I wear capris a lot when I run and I guess I just thought that wearing baggy workout pants would be the same thing. Umm, not so much. My knees were sweaty. I did the run and that’s what counts though. I ran most of it at 6mph and about 5 minutes at 5.7mph when I felt like I was pooping out. I’m cool with that. Speaking of running, I decided that I am going to run that 5K next Saturday morning. One of my friends said she will run it with me so that made the decision much easier.

I got a bit ambitious tonight and decided to make up a recipe for dinner. It had potential but needs tweaking.

Mediterranean Stuffed Peppers

IMG_3375.JPG

I cooked a half cup of lentils in my rice cooker and then mixed it with hummus, tomatoes, olives, lemon juice and goat cheese. Then I put it in a halved peppers and cooked it at 350 for 10 minutes. It was decent, but a little dry. I think if I made these again, I would have cooked the pepper separately and then put the lentil mixture in it. The lentils got a little crunchy and the pepper wasn’t cooked enough. I’d also add something else to the lentil mixture to make it…wetter? But, I did use an interesting hummus…from a can.

IMG_3371.JPG

Did you know that hummus comes in a can? Neither did I. Actually, it tasted a lot like hummus that I’ve made at home. It was decent, but missing something. The ingredient list was pretty stellar though – chickpeas, tahini, citric acid and sea salt.

Do you have a 3-day weekend? Any big plans?

10 responses to “Mediterranean Stuffed Peppers

  1. I’ve had the same problem with stuffed peppers being dry. Maybe some tomato sauce or more hummus would do the trick. I haven’t seen hummus in a can, by the way. I’ll have to look for it!

    I do have a three day weekend – I’m going to NY for a family picnic and some kayaking on Sunday. I can’t wait! Hope you have fun with the husband. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hummus in a can? What?!

  3. Wearing pants when it’s hot out is the worst…I feel like it cuts my speed in half.

  4. I’ve gotten so used to running in shorts now that going back to capris/pants doesn’t sound appealing at all. This summer’s been so very (read: freaking) hot though.

    This weekend: 15 miler tomorrow; Buckhead Bellyache ride on Sunday; US 10K Classic Sunday & maybe a cookout.

    Hopefully, my new truck will be here (I’m NOT a patient person) and maybe my new Droid X. That would make my weekend complete.

  5. Where’s the garlic in it…a must! What, no Dragon Con for you this weekend? We are just hanging out here. Not much going on. Tony is working so hopefully we will get some relaxing in at some point!

  6. what a quick and easy pepper recipe! i have never seen canned hummus.. makes me wonder how old it is though, i get anxious about canned stuff. i am a freak.

  7. I have a 3 day weekend!! ๐Ÿ™‚ We’re not doing much – just hanging out with family and friends. Enjoy YOUR weekend!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Hummus? In a can? I guess it’s economical though…and how much longer does it keep?

    Hope you have a great weekend, Lee!

  9. I’ve never seen hummus in a can! That’s kind of cool. I guess you could add stuff to it to kick it up a little? I’ll have to look out for that.

    I still have never made stuffed peppers. Up until 2 years ago, I HATED peppers, and now I love them!