The Meat Restaurant

I have to admit, I was not looking forward to going to Abbatoir for dinner last night. If you could pick a restaurant not up my alley more than anything, this would be it. However, my friend Jamie had asked them if they could make me a vegetarian meal when he made the reservations and they said yes.

When we were ready to order, I noticed that they actually had added a vegetarian option to the menu – risotto. The waiter also said that they chef could prepare a vegetable plate for me if I didn’t want the risotto. I went with that. He said it could be vegan also, if I wanted. I told him that while I wasn’t vegan, I didn’t want a lot of butter in the veggies. I was served a huge plate of [buttery] vegetables.

IMG_3801.JPG

Talk about a lot of food. That shit wasn’t cheap either! My meal cost roughly twice as much as Jason’s burger. It was good and I only ate about a third of it since I was so full.

Matt at No Meat Atlete wrote a post recently about things that suck about being a vegetarian. Numbers one and two rang very true for me last night. Instead of looking forward to dinner with friends, I spent a good few weeks worrying about what I was going to eat at said dinner. While everyone else got to try new things, I ate buttery vegetables. It’s hard sometimes. But I went vegetarian for a reason and the reason wasn’t so going out to eat would be easy. I need to remember that. Besides, the buttery vegetables were tasty.

10 responses to “The Meat Restaurant

  1. I feel the same way about that restaurant. I like trying new places, but that menu is really overwhelming! And $20 (or whatever it was) for a plate of vegetables is pretty intense!

  2. Places who aren’t used to serving vegetarians routinely do this! It drives me nuts. I’m not a vegetarian, but I often order on that side of things, and it bugs me when there’s nothing creative about it.

  3. Yeah I feel like the go to for restaurants that rarely serve vegetarians is either a huge plate of pasta or too buttery veggies. I feel your pain.

  4. It does seem tough – but good for you for sticking to it and making it work! Hate that it’s so much more expensive though… no fair!

  5. Yeah, eating out can suck as a vegetarian. I feel like so many fancy restaurants are so creative and innovative with their meat dishes, but then for their one vegetarian dish, they just throw together a bunch of veggies in butter, or have some creamy pasta dish. Boo to that.

  6. Even though I’m not vegetarian, I’ve only eaten meat maybe 5 or 6 times in the past few months and I would always prefer a veggie meal at a restaurant. Sometimes, though, I don’t get the ones they offer because there aren’t many (and they don’t look too good). I wish more places would start offering more choices!

  7. It does have to be tough, but like you said, this is a diet you have chosen, and you knew it would require more planning and thoughtfulness. You’ll probably just have to be creative when ordering or selecting dining establishments.

  8. I’m not a vegetarian, but I can totally relate! I have a difficult time finding anything to eat at most restaurants simply because I’m looking for something relatively healthy.

  9. Ohhh, risotto. That’s always a fantastic option. Yum!

  10. I can imagine that is very hard in certain situations. But like you said, you have your reasons and they are good ones. You stood by those and I’m sure still got to enjoy a night with good company. 🙂