Party Animal

I knew that I wanted to do my long run yesterday morning, so I made sure to take it easy on Friday night. Take it easy = no alcohol. I find that even one drink affects my run a lot, so from this point out, no drinks before long run day. Jason and I went to Kroger, got groceries and watched episodes of Dexter. I know, we’re such party animals, right?

I was pleased with my decision come Saturday morning, because it was gorgeous outside. I woke up around 8 and ended up going for my run around 10. I think the temperature was still in the 60s. Fall! I want it to stay this way. Despite popular belief, it actually does get cold in Georgia in the winter and I’m not looking forward to that. Seriously, it gets down into the 20s for the lows here, although not for a very long period of time. I set off for a 6 mile run. My actual route was pretty boring. It was just down a flat road 3 miles and then back. I miss my old neighborhood where I could run through cute little areas with shops and people to watch. Even though it was boring, I had added a bunch of old favorite songs to my ipod that I hadn’t heard in a while and that made the run nice. I ended up running a tiny bit longer so I could go to a gas station to get some water. Final mileage was 6.2 miles.

I came home, showered and Jason and I got ready to go to the Decatur Book Festival. I love Decatur. We really wanted to move there but just couldn’t afford it. Maybe someday.

IMG_3377.JPG

IMG_3397.JPG

The festival consisted of booths selling books. I think this interested me much more than Jason because I actually work in the children’s book industry. I spent a lot of time looking at children’s books and trying to get ideas. I also met an illustrator that illustrated one of the books that we produce.

What goes better with books than popsicles?

IMG_3391.JPG

I had been talking up King of Pops to Jason for a couple of weeks and was pleased that they were there and Jason would be able to try the popsicles. Apparently, King of Pops is this guy that quit his corporate job in exchange for selling homemade popsicles. I think there are several locations, but the one I’ve been to is actually in the parking lot of a gas station. He has quite a following.

IMG_3392.JPG

I got plum pomegranate (which Jason is eating in the picture) and Jason got Georgia Peach. After our pops, we met up with two of Jason’s friends and walked around for a while. In addition to books, there were also booths with things like bumper stickers and jewelry.

IMG_3406.JPG

Jason’s friend’s wife and I bonded (I think) over a mutual love of Young House Love and an interest in composting. Although, she actually does compost and I just have an interest in it. It’s always fun to meet people that have similar interests.

At this point, it was around 4:30 and I hadn’t had lunch and was starving. We bid adieu to Jason’s friends and walked down to Twains for a late lunch/early dinner. I had the Mediterranean Platter – greek salad, hummus and veggie chili.

IMG_3425.JPG

Playing with the camera.

IMG_3415.JPG

After we ate, we met up with our friends Joan and Randy at Taco Mac where they were watching the Alabama game. We hung out there for a while, despite my disinterest in football, and then headed home for the night.

I was in bed by 10:30. Party animal, I tell ya.

5 responses to “Party Animal

  1. SO SMART!!! No drinking before running. It seems so simple…yet so hard. That means no Friday Happy Hours:( Anyway, good for you for getting out there and enjoying the day! Yesterday WAS absolutely beautiful! (P.S. I too LOVE Decatur and hope to live there in the near future…so cute!!!)

  2. Very proud of you for not drinking. It is soooo hard, I know!! But it feels great the next morning, that’s for sure. I’ve been wanting to try out the king of pops. In fact, I just saw a friend on FB say that she’s eating a chocolate-PB pop right now.

  3. Good job not drinking. 😉

    That plum pomegranate pop sounds delicious!