3-weekends are the best kind of weekends

Happy Labor Day! Not only is it Labor Day, but it’s also Jason’s 30th birthday. Happy Birthday to my wonderful husband. And yes, he is younger than me. We have some fun things planned for the day, but I figured since it was his birthday and all, I’d let him sleep in for as long as he wants. Okay, maybe not as long as he wants, but until 10:30 or so.

It’s so nice to have a 3-day weekend. Yesterday was Sunday but I didn’t have this sense of urgency to get everything done like I normally do. One thing I love to do on the weekends is take a nap. I’ve always been a big time napper. But, my naps on Sundays usually end being shorter than I’d like because I have a million things to do. My thought process goes like this, “I can nap until 3, then I have to walk Murphy, then I have to go to the gym and make dinner because I have to go to bed early so I can start the week well-rested.” The nap ends up stressing me out more than relaxing me. But since yesterday was more like Saturday, I was able to take a nice nap and not feel rushed afterward. After the nap, Murph and I went on a 2.5 mile walk and then I went to the gym. I ran for a mile and then did the elliptical for 30 minutes while listening to This American Life. I heart Ira Glass.

On Friday night, Jason and went to Kroger to get the ingredients to make this Vegetarian Mexican casserole. We were both feeling too lazy to cook, so I ended up making it last night instead. Of course, I had to healtify it a little bit. This is the original recipe with my changes in parenthesis.

Yield: 6 servings
Ingredients
1 (15 1/4-ounce) can whole kernel corn, drained
1 (15-ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 (10-ounce) can whole tomatoes and green chiles
1 (8-ounce) container sour cream (i used fat-free)
1 (8-ounce) jar picante sauce
2 cups (8 ounces) shredded Cheddar cheese (i used .75 cups)
2 cups cooked rice
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 bunch green onions, chopped (i didn’t use)
1 (2 1/4-ounce) can sliced ripe olives
1 (8-ounce) package Monterey Jack cheese, shredded (i didn’t use)
Preparation
Combine first 8 ingredients, and spoon into a lightly greased 13- x 9-inch baking dish. Sprinkle with remaining ingredients.

Bake at 350° for 50 minutes.

Margaret Monger, Germantown, Tennessee, Southern Living, NOVEMBER 1996

I also added a can of green chilis. One thing that you’ll probably notice right away is that I used .75 cups of cheese instead of 4. Still looks cheesy to me, don’t you think? Please ignore my dirty stovetop.

IMG_3429.JPG

I’ve made a lot of Mexican type dishes and I knew that drastically reducing the cheese wouldn’t take away from the flavor of the meal. This was really tasty, but much more reminiscent of a 7-layer dip than a casserole. So I ate it with some baked chips.

IMG_3436.JPG

And then I ate it with more baked chips for breakfast! I think this might be good contender (as a dip) for our party next weekend.

10 responses to “3-weekends are the best kind of weekends

  1. Hey Lee! Happy Labor Day and Happy Birthday to Jason! Thanks for the delicious recipe.

    Enjoy your day off. 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday to Jason 🙂

    Enjoy your day off and that Mexican dish looks delish. I love Mexican food especially anything that can be consumed with Baked Scoops!!

  3. Hope you guys have a great day! It’s a basic day here for us. Nothing special…and I wish I could get a nap. LOL

  4. Lee, that casserole looks absolutely delicious! I’m actually tempted to run over to Kroger here in a few minutes to pick up the ingredients and have it for dinner tonight. Decisions, decisions…

    Anyhow, I also wanted to say thank you for dropping by and commenting on my blog yesterday – always cool to meet another Atlanta blogger. Also, I made sure to add you to my “Friends” page: http://www.runjimmyrun.com/friends-of-rjr/ :). Take care and see you around!

  5. Nice recipe – love the look of that casserole! I always reduce the amount of cheese and NEVER notice!

    Happy 30th to Jason!

  6. Happy Labor Day and Happy 30th to Jason!!

    Your veggie mexican casserole looks awesome!! We love making casseroles so we have leftovers, mmmmmm!!

  7. Happy belated Birthday to Jason!

    Mmmm….I love any kind of mexican casserole/dip. That looks delicious!

  8. I am the same way with naps. Gotta love how our thoughts just interfere! That casserole looks awesome!

  9. That looks like heaven on a plate…

  10. that casserole looks awesome! and marshall would looove it! thanks for sharing.