Vinings Downhill 5K

Whenever I need to be especially well-rested, I cannot sleep. Always, always happens. I set my alarm for 6:10 this morning but was up by 5:30. Ugh. Around 7, I left my house and drove to Vinings for the Vinings Downhill 5K. My friend Jaime was running it with me and she met me there.

The first mile was pretty easy. There were some small rolling hills but mostly downhills. I crossed the one mile mark at about 9:20. I was pretty pleased with that and then, boom, an uphill. This is supposed to be the Vinings DOWNHILL race. Wtf? Actually, I knew that there was going to be two quarter mile uphill portions of the race. My pace slowed significantly and I passed the mile 2 marker at 19:30. I knew that I was still on target to make my sub 30 minute goal. There was supposed to be another uphill right before Mile 2, but honestly, I didn’t really notice it. And then, the entire last mile was a straight shot downhill. Woo!

I crossed the finish line at 29:15. Goal accomplished! It was actually harder than I thought it would be. Since there were so many downhill portions, I really picked up the pace and struggled with the uphills more than usual.

The race started and ended at different spots. There was a big line for a bus to get back so Jaime and I decided to walk the mile back to our car and to pick up our t-shirts. We were busy chatting and didn’t realize, as we walked up a HUGE hill, that we’d walked right past the t-shirt area. So we had to walk back down the hill to the shirts and up again! That hill was much harder than any part of the race.

I got home, showered and attempted to take a nap. Nope, couldn’t fall asleep. We’re having a party tonight and I don’t want to be tired, but I just couldn’t nap. I’m hoping I’ll do some party prep and that will tire me out enough to get a little shut eye.

9 responses to “Vinings Downhill 5K

  1. Great job with the race! I hope you can get some sleep before the partay. 🙂

  2. WOW!! Under 30, that’s awesome!! Congrats on a great time!! 🙂

  3. Awesome job Lee!! I knew you could do it!

  4. Congrats, Lee!! I’m the same way– never can sleep when I KNOW I need to.

  5. ah! Wait to hit your goal (despite the hills)- you rock chicky

  6. Yay! Great job! 🙂

    I can never sleep before anything big: races, job interviews, presentations, etc. Especially if I have to wake up early!

  7. WOW!!! Great time, Lee!!! That hill back to the car WAS a killer (couldn’t imagine doing it twice!!) Glad you hit your goal!!:)

  8. Yay for great 5k races this weekend!

  9. Congrats on a well done 5 k! Downhills can be challenging in their own way.