Party Time

The wine went down a little too easy last night and I am not feeling my best today. Welcome to being in your 30’s (but thinking that you can drink like you’re in your 20’s.) Despite my hangover, our party was a lot of fun. I couldn’t take a nap at all yesterday, so I just started getting the food ready early.

We really weren’t sure how many people were going to show, so we didn’t know exactly how much food to put out. This ended up being a good amount, although some stuff got eaten and I forgot to refill it.

Most of the food was from Costco, but the hit of the party was actually something that I made myself – Oreo Truffles.

IMG_3818.JPG

Everyone raved about these. The original recipe is here, but of course, I tweeked it just a little bit.

Lees’ take on Easy Oreo Truffles
1 package of Oreos
1 package of Neufschatal cheese (How do you pronounce that anyway?), softened
1 package semi-sweet Baker’s chocolate

1. Crush oreos in food processor to make crumbs.
2. Add cream cheese and process.
3. Roll into individual balls and set on cookie sheet.
4. Refrigerate for about an hour.
5. Melt two squares of Baker’s chocolate at a time in the microwave.
6. Coat as many balls as you can and then melt more chocolate and repeat.

Hmm, how come the term “coat as many balls as you can” is never in cookbooks?

Aside from the truffles, we had some other finger foods:

IMG_3452.JPG

Brushetta, Oreo Truffles, Tortilla chips, salsa, hummus, Pita Chips, ranch dip and crudites and 7-layer dip.

IMG_3453.JPG

IMG_3455.JPG

There was a little snafu with the 7-layer dip. And by snafu, I mean no one got to eat it because Murphy stuck his face in it while no one was looking. Oops. We also had an unpictured cheese plate in the other room.

And, of course, a birthday cake for Jason.

IMG_3460.JPG

Murphy had a friend over too.

IMG_3473.JPG

Our house looks nice with two dogs, doesn’t it? Just sayin’. This is our neighbor’s dog. We’d only seen our neighbors in passing before, but they came over and they were very cool.

About 20 people came which was fun, especially since I was worried that no one would show. In all honesty though, I think that I prefer hosting smaller gatherings like dinner parties because I felt like I didn’t have enough time to talk to everyone and didn’t mingle enough. Hopefully no one minded.

IMG_3470.JPG

I did a whole lot of nothing today. I was supposed to run, but it just didn’t happen. Tomorrow night, we’re going to a concert, so I might try to get the run in in the morning. Of course, whenever I say that, I reset my alarm, but maybe if I go to bed early enough tonight.

6 responses to “Party Time

  1. Everything looks delicious, especially that Oreo dessert. Oreos are such a favorite! Fun party. πŸ™‚

  2. That last picture of you and Jason is definitely frame-worthy! Yall look great!! And I think I need to make those oreo truffles ASAP! πŸ™‚

  3. The first time I made those truffles, I think I ate half myself. πŸ™‚

    What a great party! I love the pic of you and Jason.

  4. So glad that the party was a success. The food looks great and I love your dress. πŸ™‚

    Hope you have a great Monday.

  5. I hope you are having fun at the concert! Glad the party went off well. Looks like a nice spread of food! I hope your hubs had a great birthday!

  6. well i am late to the party, but happy bday jason! that’s funny he LOVED costco.. who doesnt?!