A non injury, hopefully

Murphy says, “I’m ready for Fall.” Me too, Murphy, me too.

IMG_3483.JPG

My leg felt better towards the end of the day, so I decided to go to the gym and see what happens. I did the elliptical for 30 minutes and was totally fine. So, I decided to test it out on the treadmill. I ran for half a mile and didn’t feel any pain. Weird, huh? My leg really hurt yesterday and today I feel better? I really think that maybe I just lifted some weights on Monday that were a little too heavy. I only did a half mile because I didn’t want to press my luck.

I really hope that yesterday’s sore leg was just some sort of fluke. Sometimes I write about not enjoying running and everything, but in actuality, exercise is a huge anxiety reliever for me. I struggle with anxiety issues in general and working out definitely helps. On the flip side, though, if I can’t work out, I get anxious about that. I know that exercise is a healthy way to alleviate stress but it sometimes worries me that if I don’t get in what I deem to be enough working out, it negatively affects my mood. Hmm.

Moving on. We have a ton of carrots and celery leftover from our party so I googled recipes with both and came up with Unsloppy Joes. It didn’t really use a lot of carrots or celery but once I spotted the recipe, I wanted to try it.

IMG_3490.JPG

With the Unsloppy Joes, I made parsnip fries. I’ve never had them before and I don’t know what I thought.

IMG_3489.JPG

They looked like fries and kind of tasted like fries, but still had a strange earthy taste that I didn’t really care for. Oh well, I tried. I think I’ll stick with potatoes.

15 responses to “A non injury, hopefully

  1. Hey Lee! I’m glad that your leg was feeling better today. I’ve never had parsnip fries either, but I love carrot fries. Yum.

    Hope you have a great day tomorrow!

    P.S. Murphy is adorable.

  2. All you have to do is put up a Murphy picture, and you’ve hooked me for the entire post. 🙂

  3. Yay!! Glad you didn’t have pain in your workout– maybe it was just a fluke thing?

  4. Glad your leg seems to be feeling better! It was probably just a sore muscle or something!

  5. Awww….Murphy! I Love the expression on his face. You can tell he’s really trying to same something!

    I am SO glad your leg feels better! Hopefully, like you said, it is just a fluke and you’ll be good to go for the race this weekend. 🙂

  6. *oops, I meant “say” something 🙂

  7. LOVING on that pup picture. He’s quite the looker!

    Thanks for sharing that recipe for the Unsloppy Joes. I like the idea of subbing the kidney beans for the meat. I LOVE LOVE LOVE sloppy joes, but it’s always nice to have a veggie option for those moments that I forget to defrost my ground meat!

  8. Random pains happen sometimes with running. Sometimes its a real injury, and sometimes its not. You were smart to pay attention to it and run with caution because it is hard to tell if it is something you can push though and be fine or if it is something that you really need to rest. Exacerbating injuries= bad news. Trust me, I am the queen of this. I’m glad it seems that everything is OK!

  9. I’m ready for fall too!!

    I hope your leg continues to feel okay. That would be weird it hurt only for a day, but great!

  10. ❤ that photo of your pooch. i miss my retriever! i have yet to hop on the parsnips wagon!

  11. Murphy pictures just make me so happy! He’s such a handsome boy! 🙂 Glad you’re feeling better. Have you tried making yucca fries? Those are really good!!

  12. That’s probably really good you only ran 1/2 mile. Don’t want to push it too hard; gotta stay healthy! 🙂 Hope you continue to be pain free! P.S. Murphy is the cutest pup!!

  13. oh good – hope your leg is fine now! I’m ready for fall too, along with you and Murphy! I’ve never tried parsnip – i’m down with potato or sweet potato though – and butternut squash is pretty dang close!