Big Snacker

I feel like my posts lately have been a little void of substance. There is a good reason for that. When I was at my last job and bored, I often had tons of time to think of things to blog about and I’d even compose posts while I was working and email them to myself so I’d have them when I got home. Then all I’d have to do is add pictures. Now, I’m actually working for the majority of the day (which is a good thing). I go to the gym after work and by the time that I sit down for dinner and to relax, it’s at least 8pm which begs the question of do I blog or do I chill with Jason? I usually try to do both which result in a less than stellar blog post.

I have some free time right now, so I’d like to get something off my chest that’s been bothering me. Since our wedding three months ago, I’ve managed to gain 5 pounds. I know that in the grand scheme of things, 5 pounds isn’t a lot and in the grand scheme of life, gaining a minuscule amount of weight is nothing. But these extra pounds make me feel bad about myself and that is a problem. My clothes feel tight and I just feel bloated and generally yucky. I’m sick of being told that I look fine. Yes, I am not technically overweight, I know that. But, if you go by the BMI chart, I’m at the very high end of normal weight and that’s not where I feel comfortable. I’ve been doing a decent amount of exercise so the problem lies with my food intake.

There are a lot of snacks at my job. Our department is small, only 5 people, and we all contribute to a snack pile, if you will. Right now, we have a bunch of granola bars and we had a small love affair with Crunch and Mmunch earlier this week. Seriously, have you had Crunch and Munch? It’s a little addictive. A lot of other times, there are 100 calorie packs and things of that sort lying around. And here is my problem. When I see food, I want to eat it. I don’t even like a lot of the 100 calorie packs, yet I eat them anyway because they are there. Maybe I’m bored. Maybe I just want to take a break from working, I don’t know. But when I am faced with snacks, I will eat them. I honestly think this is contributing to my weight gain. Think about it, if I’m eating 200 extra calories a day, that’s an extra pound every two weeks. I just don’t know how to resist temptation. I’ve been trying to bring in my own healthy alternatives, but sometimes the chocolate craving is too hard to ignore.

Suggestions please! How do you ward off temptation? Especially of foods that you don’t even really like?

The problem is not with my actual meals. I’m still eating the same type of generally healthy fare that I have always eaten. Last night, Jason made Taco Salads. Per my definition last night, a taco salad is a salad with refried beans in it.

IMG_3493.JPG

In addition to the refried beans, the salad also contained lettuce, sauteed zucchini and onions, salsa, a little bit of tortilla chips and avocado.

So, yeah, my meals are fine. I’m not going to change them, but I want to get a handle on my incessant snacking. I also like to eat dinner earlier than Jason does. I get home at 6 if I don’t go to the gym and I immediately want to eat. If he’s not ready for dinner, what do I do? You got it, more snacking. Argh.

13 responses to “Big Snacker

  1. Hey Lee! I can completely relate to being so busy and feeling a little fizzled out with posting. I think you’ve been doing a great job though.

    I think for me, I’ve kind of realized that food is meant to be functional and pleasurable. I feel like, from your description, that you’re not necessarily hungry and don’t really find pleasure in the 100 calorie packs. I think it helps to not only think of that, but also of how you feel after – kind of empty and unsatisfied. I hope it helps. πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve put on about five pounds since starting my new job this past January. At my old job, I was constantly running around the complex our offices were in. Now, I’m at my desk ALL DAY LONG. The lack of movement drives me insane!

    You’ve already identified the problem – you are using the snacks to distract you or give you a break from work. Don’t worry – we all do it πŸ™‚

    Try to only eat the things that you would enjoy 100%. You definitely don’t like what is there – so why eat it?

  3. I’ve also gained a few pounds since starting a new job, mostly because I’m stuck sitting at a desk for 8-9 hours a day. Thankfully snacking isn’t a huge thing as far as people bringing in food, but I find myself mindlessly snacking because I can’t just get up and walk away.

    I’m also back on the Diet Coke habit since starting work. It’s free and gives that nice caffeine rush at lunchtime. Sigh.

  4. I think you mean you like to eat dinner EARLIER than me? right?

  5. Hey Lee,

    I can SO relate to this. I’ve gained about 8 pounds in the last year (since the summer of our wedding), and even though all of my clothes still fit (albeit, a little more snugly), I just feel GROSS a lot of the time. I’m also a big snacker– every time I SEE food, I have to eat it. Otherwise, I’ll just be thinking about it all afternoon until I finally give in. Ugh.

    I don’t have any great tips for you, sadly…but I’ll be interested in seeing what others say!

  6. I had to start bringing my own snacks – there are some things I just can’t say no to so substitution was the only thing that worked for me.

  7. I’m a snacker too! Even more now being pregnant!! I just try really hard not to eat something unless I’m really hungry for it. And if I’m bored I try the ol drink a glass of water thing and see if that helps… sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn’t.

  8. I can relate to this, too…they ALWAYS have candy and snacks out my work. Not 10 feet from my office is a candy dispenser full of (free) M&M’s! I just bring a snack (or two) and try to stick with those. If I REALLY want what’s brought in by others, though (or those damn M&M’s), I will have them, I just try to stick to my snack usually.

  9. Hmmm. That’s a tough one. We have snacks, but you have to buy them (it’s actually a donation to the United Way), so I tend to not take cash to work. (Animal Crackers are the bane of my existence at work.)

    Have you thought about making snacks that incorporate the things that you are craving? Some popcorn mixed with some chocolate chips? Popcorn with caramel chips? I know you want to avoid the extra calories, but a few chips may save you a big difference in chocolate decadence.

    Otherwise, I do work with a girl who is diligent about monitoring her weight/food intake. Whenever we have extra goodies, she immediately goes to brush her teeth.

  10. We have become scheduled eaters. I don’t know if that is good or bad. It does keep us from aimlessly snacking though. We are home all day with food around all the time, so we have found that we stick to a schedule so we don’t go overboard. We also don’t keep the not so good stuff around (at least for long). If we do treats, once they are gone, we take a break from them. The snack pile is dangerous for sure. I have pretty good will power, Tony on the other hand just doesn’t want the crap around. Oh and when Tony did not get home until after 7pm, I had to eat at 6 with the kids. Sometimes you just can’t wait or you are eating way more than you should.

  11. I had this problem at my last job. I would try to make myself wait until after lunch. Then I’d pick 2-3 mini choc bars from the snack basket. Sometimes I’d decide to wait until Friday. Then I’d allow myself a couple treats.

  12. For some reason, I have insane willpower at work but at home, I mindlessly snack in the evenings. I think for me, I don’t like eating in front of other people. Plus when I do snack at home it’s always healthy stuff (like more fruit or almonds or popcorn) whereas at work its brownies, cookies, etc. Maybe you could try chewing gum? Or whenever you want to snack go for a quick walk around the office or outside?

  13. I usually only eat something if it is appealing to me, unless I am incredibly hungry- then I’ll eat anything in sight. Before I eat something I ask myself if I am truly hungry and, if so, do I really want to eat it? If both answers are yes, I eat it. Which is why I had a piece (not the whole thing though- I have decent willpower) of an apple cider donut the other night. Yum.