Faking Fall

I’m done with summer. Seriously, it was 95 degrees out today. So instead of bitching about it, I figured I’d just act like it was fall and maybe the weather would follow suit. And what screams fall more than crock pot soup? Okay, a lot of things do, but humor me here.

I got everything ready last night and put into into the crockpot this morning. When I got home from work, I was greeted by this:

IMG_3576.JPG

This is Mexican Minestrone Soup. I accidently bought sliced canned tomatoes instead of diced. It turned out fine though. Oh, and instead of a 30 oz can of black beans, I used a 15 oz can of black beans and a 15 oz can of butter beans.

I’m trying to make meals that Jason will like. I try to get him to eat healthier, but it occurred to me that trying to shove tofu and chia seeds into his mouth is not exactly the way to get him to enjoy and crave healthy food. So, I’m trying to find husband-friendly recipes – things that we can both enjoy. I think (and hope) that this is one of them. I liked it at least, especially with a sprinkle of cheese on top.

A 4.5 mile run was on the agenda for tonight. I’m not sure how I got to the point in my training where I’m running 4.5 miles on the weeknights. Truth be told, I have kind of been slacking on the training. I’m physically fit enough to where I can run about 6 miles now just fine but I’m not sure how much more I can run so I need to stick with the plan from here on out. The race is on October 30th.

My run tonight was actually really good. A lot of times, running is hard for me so I really cherish the runs that feel easy. The whole time i was thinking, this is so great, this run feels good. A 4.5 mile run still takes me roughly 45 minutes and that’s a long time to be on the treadmill. It does get a little boring.

Is it fall where you are?

13 responses to “Faking Fall

  1. NO FALL here. (Duh, we’re practically in the same place). Out with summer, please!

  2. That definitely looks like a healthy, husband-friendly meal! Yum!

  3. Gotta love the crock pot. Makes life/dinner so much easier. Looks delicious. Glad you had a great run. I’m hoping to have one later today as well! Since I’m right next door 😉 Its still summer! But…I love it. I’m a warm weather chicky…what can I say?

  4. Fall in South Florida is called “hurricane season.” So, no, it’s not fall here. Ever. And I certainly miss a change in weather this time of year!

  5. That is so funny because I made chili in my crock pot yesterday….and it was 94 degrees here!

    Definitely NOT fall here yet, but, I actually really like it. I know the day will come too soon when I’m trapsing through the snow and clearing off my car!

  6. Hi Lee! Your soup looks great. I’m going to have to start using my crock pot more.

    Great work on the run – easy runs are the best. It is fall here, well, it has been. Today its 80 degrees! Its going back down to 60 tomorrow, though. Crazy.

  7. Haha, we’ve been eating chili and soups since the end of August! 😉 I just bought pumpkin candy corns and pumpkin soap from bath and bodyworks today. I’m doing everything I possibly can to make it feel like fall but the weather is just not cooperating!!!!!

  8. I know what you mean. I’m so tired of the heat. I made soup this weekend and pretended it was cooler outside.
    I’m so done with summer.

  9. It’s quite chilly here in LA, in the evenings anyway, and in the day it’s perfect 70s. I’m sorry, you’re probably wanting to kill me now. This is why I wanna live here for the rest of my life, if possible.

    would your hubby like twice-baked potatoes or roast potatoes? Those are healthy, and incredibly easy and delish.

  10. I’m super ready for fall, but at the same time, I’m careful what I wish for… Soon enough it’s going to be below freezing! Ugh.

    P.S. I’m new to the blog. Are you running a half-marathon? I am in mid-October!

  11. Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

    It’s still hot here in Chicago- I think we’re supposed to get up to 90 degrees today! Wha??? Congrats on the run!