Creature of Habit

I get stuck in breakfast ruts. For about two years, every morning, I ate cottage cheese mixed with peanut butter, banana, splenda (back before I realized that it kills my stomach) and cereal. Every morning. Then I got sick of it and never wanted it again. Lately, my thing has been egg sandwiches. And when I say lately, I mean for the past year or so. I do switch it up occasionally, but for the most part, my breakfast consists of either 2 egg whites and an egg or 1/2 cup egg beaters on some sort of bread with a slice of cheese. Today was one of those rare days where I did have something different.

IMG_3612.JPG

A smoothie in a bowl. Yes, I’m totally guilty of hopping on the trendy food (in the healthy living blogger world) bandwagon. Don’t judge! This smoothie was made of 3/4 cup skim milk, 1 banana, some frozen berries, a pineapple ring and a scoop of chia seeds. Then I topped it with Kashi Go Lean Crisp. Pretty good and fun to eat, although I did sort of want an egg sandwich.

I did a decent leg workout during my lunch hour. For some reason, this time I got a lot of different exercises in and finished in like 25 minutes. I like to use the ifitness app and switch up the routines. Today I did the Glutes Definition routine.

Dumbell Calf Jump – 20 lbs, 3 sets of 8
Machine Leg Press – 90 lbs, 3 sets of 8
Dumbbell Lunge – 24 lbs, 3 sets of 8 (each leg)
Dumbbell Front Squat – 25 lbs, 3 sets of 8
Single Leg Standing Calf Raise, 2 sets of 20 (each leg)
Side Lunge – 12 lbs, 3 sets of 8 (each leg)
Swiss Ball Glute Bridge – 3 sets of 12
Side Kicks (I added this one because I could not, for the life of me, figure out how to do a hack squat which was in the original routine.) – 2 sets of 20 each leg

I use this app a lot. I’d say that besides Facebook, EchoFon (Twitter) and Shazam, I probably use ifitness the most.

Speaking of ruts, I tend to get into cookbook ruts too where I make recipes from the same cookbook for a while. Jason has expressed interest in eating healthier so I have really been trying to make an effort to cook so I can prove that healthy food can taste good too. Again, I made something from the PDQ Vegetarian cookbook.

IMG_3621.JPG

This is Lentils with Spinach and Basil over Rice. Except I forgot to get fresh basil and just used a cube of Dorot frozen. Perhaps it would have been better with fresh. It was still good though. I would not classify it as quick, but that’s because I used Brown Basmati rice that took forever to cook. Seriously, I think it cooked for an hour in my rice cooker. The lentils also took 40 minutes to cook. No, definitely not a quick meal, but a pretty easy one to throw together.

13 responses to “Creature of Habit

  1. It’s kind of fun to eat something different for breakfast every now and then. I tend to eat the same thing everyday too, but get oddly excited when I have a bagel instead of my usual overnight oats.

  2. I love making smoothies but rarely for breakfast, mostly because it would totally annoy my roommate if I switched on the blender at 6:30am! I’m absolutely a creature of habit with breakfast.

  3. I’ve been cooking out of the same vegan and vegetarian cookbook for a few months now! All of the recipes are so yummy though.

    So you liked the SIAB? I dunno…the concept is so strange to me.

  4. Oh no!! Not SIAB! I’ll look away so my disapproval gaze doesn’t meet you. πŸ˜‰

    But yeah, yours is breakfast, mine is dinner ruts. By the end of the day I just don’t want something new or creative.

  5. Wow, you actually MAKE things for breakfast? I never have that kind of energy first thing in the morning. Typically, I eat a granola bar. Every day.

  6. I am the same way with breakfast. Today was my first oatmeal of the season- all spring and summer I had greek yogurt with granola. Except for those glorious days when I have an egg and cheese sandwich with an everything bagel πŸ™‚

  7. So funny, I am the same way with breakfast. And when I switch it up…I usually wish I hadn’t hahah. Great workout πŸ™‚

  8. Decent? I think it’s a great leg workout!! I hear you – Austin won’t let me get in ruts – he’s obnoxious about us having to switch it up constantly!! (Not REALLY obnoxious – you know what I mean!) πŸ™‚

  9. I love my oats for breakfast-I just spice up the toppings/mix ins.

    Right now I’m in a salad rut. Too many of them for too many of my meals. And while it tastes fantastic-I’m sure my body wants something else.

  10. I love smoothies, but I am weirded out by the bowl thing – I guess I should try it before I decide though lol. Caitlin @ HTP had an awesome looking pumpkin smoothie today – I think I’ll try that tomorrow πŸ™‚