Not a great cook

When it comes to running, I often try to talk myself out of going. I knew that I had a 4 mile run to do, but immediately started thinking of excuses of why I shouldn’t run. They were all valid reasons – my legs were sore from lifting yesterday, I was tired, I hadn’t taken a rest day since last Saturday. I told myself that I could have put the run off until tomorrow.

But I didn’t.

It was only four miles and it was nice out. I didn’t have anything else to do. If I put it off until tomorrow, then I’d have to, well, do it tomorrow. Sometimes getting out the door is the hardest part. The run went fine. My legs were sore, but running didn’t feel any different then sitting. And now it’s over and I can take tomorrow as a rest day. Friday rest days are a good start to the weekend.

While I was running, I was trying to think of what I wanted for dinner. I got it in my head that I was going to make a spaghetti squash macaroni and cheese. Umm, it didn’t turn out exactly how I planned! It was more like spaghetti squash with some broccoli and cheese sauce (cheese mixed with milk) on it. This is why I am not the next Project Food Blogger.

Seriously, I have no concept of how to invent a recipe. I am not even that good at following a recipe. I guess that if I cook more and more, I’ll sort of figure out how certain ingredients work together, right? I wish I was a good cook! Here’s my nothing like macaroni and cheese spaghetti squash.

IMG_3625.JPG

Are you good at making up recipes?

18 responses to “Not a great cook

  1. Yes, getting out the door is the hardest part. Glad you made it out and felt good.

    And wouldn’t dare make up a recipe. If I can’t duplicate it straight from someone’s blog or cookbook then I don’t bother trying. Throwing away food that I mess up gets too expensive!

  2. Getting out the door is my biggest problem, by the time I’ve convinced myself to go I could have been back already.

    You know, I really do love to cook. I’ve always been able to replicate a plate of food that I’ve seen online or on TV without a recipe, but now that I’m learning to cook vegetarian and vegan meals, and even some with optional meat for the husband, it’s like starting all over again. I’ve had a lot of dinner fails lately, so don’t feel so bad!

  3. I am glad you got your run in…I am sure it felt good mentally! I get up and work out in the morning so there is not putting it off. It forces me to just do it. As for making up recipes…well, most of us can’t do what you do, so I wouldn’t be concerned about it…have fun with it! I hope you have a great weekend!

  4. Getting going is the hardest part for me too πŸ™‚

    I do like to work on creating my own recipes, but I also hate wasting things, so if they don’t turn out, I’m annoyed πŸ™‚

  5. Getting out the door is definitely the hardest part, that’s for sure. πŸ˜€

    As for cooking, you’re right. It all comes with practice and figuring out what you like, don’t like, etc. And being willing to experiment with new flavors or ideas too. It doesn’t mean every recipe will come out perfect or wonderful, but you just never know when you’ll land that perfect recipe. πŸ˜€

  6. I wouldn’t call anything that I make up a recipe! Dinner normally consists of random stuff from the fridge and freezer, all thrown together. πŸ™‚

  7. Even if you don’t think you’re good at inventing recipes or cooking, at least you try. Most people don’t even get that far!

  8. Off the top of my head no, but I can take a recipe change it and make it mine. I agree the hardest part is getting out the door and getting going.

  9. Looks like a good recipe to me! I’m having trouble getting back into running after taking a week or so off (many excuses, sick). It’s so difficult! But it does help if I try to distract myself while I’m running. I think of recipes too, or things to write about for my blog.

  10. Getting out the door IS the hardest part. It’s so easy to make excuses (I find myself doing it awesome). Good for you for pushing through!

  11. I think starting is the hardest part too. After you get going you normally feel better anyways. And I agree that Fridays are a great rest day. When I was working they were always my rest day.

  12. Definitely NOT a good cook. I’m embarrassed to admit that I even failed at hard boiling eggs last week…twice! I mean, really? I hope it gets easier the more you do it….otherwise, there is no hope for me. πŸ™‚

  13. omg I’m writing a post right now on how I’m more of an arranger then a cook! So funny : )

  14. I try and come up with recipes occasionally, but sometimes I wonder if anybody else would really like them. Andrew usually turns his nose up at them! πŸ˜‰

  15. Blog is the New Black

    I’m not good at making up recipes, but I am good at following one and improvising! πŸ™‚

  16. I’m pretty bad at following recipes, and not the best at making up recipes either- but I usually like what I make, it’s just not the complicated dishes most people like πŸ™‚

  17. Nice job!! I made myself do a run yesterday too. I didn’t want to but damn it I made myself! haha

    I’m all for following recipes (well tweaking them to save calories and fat and THEN following them). I rarely create my own, but the more I cook the more I feel confident in doing it!