Go Fish?

As you might or might not know, I’ve been a vegetarian for only a short time, about four months. Let me give you a history of my eating habits, or whatever you want to call them. I ate anything and everything until I was about 14 or 15. Then, I cut out all pork and red meat. Then, when I was about 24, I became pescatarian, only eating fish and seafood but no other forms of meat. I did that for about five or six years and then I decided to reintroduce chicken into my diet. I ate chicken and fish, but still no pork or red meat for about a year. Then, I went completely vegetarian. And that’s where I am now.

Jason eats everything. When we met, I was pescatarian. We went out for sushi and mussels and when I took him back to Maryland to visit my family, we ate Maryland Blue Crab. When I cook at home, I only cook vegetarian meals and I don’t think he’s satisfied. He wants me to eat fish again.

I’m sort of torn. On one hand, I feel like if I do start to eat fish, I’ll have a much easier time in life. There will always be something on a restaurant menu that I can eat and Jason and I will have an easier time cooking dinners together. Plus I like sushi. I also think that if I’m eating fish, Jason will eat more fish and therefore, eat healthier which is something that I really want him to do.

I became vegetarian after watching Earthlings and reading Eating Animals. I’m just not sure if I’m really that empathetic to fish. But it makes me feel like I’m doing something good when I’m not eating them.

Argh, I don’t know. Part of me thinks that if by becoming pescatarian again, it would make Jason eat better, it’s worth it. But part of me thinks that I should stick to my convictions. Argh, I don’t know!!

The word pescatarian sounds kind of dumb, no?

Dinner tonight was still vegetarian. Even if I do decide to eat fish again, I have a feeling that it will only be in small amounts. I took a frozen Trader Joe’s naan and made a pizza out of it.

IMG_3712.JPG

I sauteed some spinach and artichoke hearts and topped the naan with it, plus tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese. The frozen naan looks small, but it makes quite a hearty pizza crust.

Before dinner, I ran 5 miles. I decided that I wanted to run in the neighborhoods instead of on the busy main roads that I usually run on. Except that I could not figure out a 5 mile neighborhood route. I did, however, map out a 2.5 mile route. So I ran it twice. Let me tell you, it’s kind of mentally difficult to run right by my house and know that I have to do the entire loop again. Plus, it was hella hilly. But I did it and the neighborhoods were quiet and nice and I’ll probably do it again.

17 responses to “Go Fish?

  1. Love TJ’s Naan, it’s definitely the best. I never map out routes that go by my house because I know I don’t have enough will power to keep going.

  2. Fish is the reason I’m not a ‘true’ vegetarian. I know the facts, both moral and environmental, and yet I continue to eat it. Do what feels right for you no matter what anyone else says or thinks.

  3. Smart pizza! I don’t know if I could run past my house and not stop – you rock! I had never heard of that word and, sadly, don’t know what to tell you. I can say that I didn’t eat red meat for about 13 years but began eating it again with Austin??

  4. Hrm, I agree with Erin – you should do what feels right to you and not eat fish for anyone else. Could you start cooking fish for the fellow?

    I love naan pizza. So easy and satisfying.

  5. Lee, I feel your frustration. My husband is an avid carnivore and I desperately don’t want to force my food ideals on him, which is pretty much the only reason I’m still eating meat more than twice a month or so. I’m not sure I’ll ever be completely vegan, but I’d like to get to the point where meat is like a junk food for me, eaten once a week or less. He is the only reason I’m still having meat at 6 out of 7 dinners a week (I almost never have meat for breakfast or lunch.) Right now we’re trying pescatarianism, with one “other cut” from another animal source per week. I love making family dinners, it’s hard for me to figure out how to please us both at the dinner table now. I’m hoping that this problem slowly gets better over the years as I learn how to cook differently for both of us without making him feel like crap. I’d love to hear how Jason handles your food choices and how you guys reconcile different wants.

  6. I have no idea what naan is, but I’m going to look it up!
    I think you have to do what makes you happy. If you have serious concerns with eating fish, listen to them. If you WANT to have more serious concerns, but you just don’t, then maybe try some limited fish meals. I know it can be difficult to explain your food preferences to people when they can’t be neatly packaged into one word. It’s okay to have an asterisk next to that word so you can include exceptions for you and your family.
    Very interesting post and it makes me think more about some food concerns that I have been rattling around in my head lately.

  7. If you like sushi, then eat it. If you want to eat mostly vegetarian, then do so. Just find a good balance and perfect fit for your lifestyle and preferences. There’s no need to put absolute rules into one’s diet. This is why I’m just not a fan of labels. I think it gives unnecessary stress to people.

  8. I run in my neighborhood, well, if you can call it a neighborhood. It’s really just a couple of dirt roads. But it gets really boring. There is only one route I can take which often leads to mental boredom throughout my run. I need to just bite the bullet and go run in town, where there are more things to look at!

  9. TJ’s naan is awesome. I always pick up a few packages to keep in our freezer when I’m there.

    Pescatarian is a funny sounding word, but hey, it is the correct term. It annoys me when I hear people say they are vegetarians, but eat still fish. You’re not a vegetarian then! I think I’d have a very hard time giving up seafood too.

  10. I think you should do what’s right for you and your body. I don’t think we should deny ourselves anything. It’s more important to eat responsibly and respectful than to abide by rules. Good luck!

  11. I agree about the word pescatarian….I mean, vegetarian sounds much better, right? In all honesty, I could probably be a pescatarian. I do like meat, but I could give it up if it meant I could still have fish or sushi….

    I have never had naan! 😦 It always looks so tasty in pics.

  12. Good post! I too have gone through the ups and downs of eating and not eating red meats, chicken, and fish at one time or another. I think that you should eat what you enjoy. I love sushi and blue crabs way too much to ever give them up…and you are right, it does make eating out A LOT easier. You’re also right about the word pescatarian…it does sound pretty dumb. (P.S. Thanks for the heads up on the Candler Park 5K)

  13. When I first started eating meat again (still haven’t had pork or cow), I felt incredibly guilty but I’ve discovered that my body feels better with some animal protein. I think you should figure out what makes you feel best both emotionally and physically. Maybe you can make a dishes that can have both a meat and vegetarian option? For example stuffed peppers: stuff yours with beans or lentils and stuff Jason’s with ground beef, etc (unless you are against cooking meat). Good luck!!

    And I can never run by my apartment-I’m weak and would stop…

  14. Your eating should never be determined by another person. If you feel best eating all vegetarian then don’t do fish just because it may help him or make him happier. But, if you LIKE fish, feel okay when eating it, and don’t feel it goes against your personal ethical view of view then I think you should go for it.