Taming the Snack Monster

I was supposed to run 5 miles tonight and I just didn’t. There wasn’t any particular reason. I had to stay at work about 15 minutes late and then there was major traffic. When I got home, it was already almost 6:30 and I was afraid that it would get dark out. Plus, we needed to go to the grocery store, so I just skipped the run altogether. I feel a bit guilty about it; I am training for a race, after all, but what’s done is done, and I’ll have to do it tomorrow morning, I guess.

I had it all in my head that we would go to the grocery store and pick up some ingredients and follow a recipe. But of course, we were too hungry to figure out what to make and just ended up getting a lot of random stuff instead. This always happens to me; I have all good intentions of making an actual meal and then let myself get too hungry to make it and end up with something like this:

IMG_3714.JPG

With a side of:

IMG_3728.JPG

I love pomegranate seeds!

Even though I didn’t make dinner, I am happy to report that my snack monster is somewhat tamed. Here’s the evidence:

IMG_3730.JPG

IMG_3731.JPG

IMG_3732.JPG

All of these items were purchased at least two weeks ago and normally wouldn’t last a day or two in my house. I managed to eat them in reasonable portions! Despite what it looks like, there are pretzels in that bag. I might have eaten three pieces of biscotti after taking that picture, but that’s the serving size. Seriously, I have some problems keeping snacky foods like these out of my mouth so the fact that they’ve lasted so long in my house is quite a feat.

My dad is coming to visit me tomorrow. I should probably go to sleep if I want to get that missed run in.

4 responses to “Taming the Snack Monster

  1. I love pomegranate seeds!! Way to go on the snacking. It’s stubborn monster to tame, I know from experience, so good job! 🙂 Have a wonderful Saturday!!

  2. When I’m hungry, I’m HUNGRY. Usually I just end up making sauteed or baked veggies and fried eggs. Not the most exciting dinner…

  3. I feel you on the snack thing. I used to have serious lack of control with snacks. I definitely still have some days like that though where I just want to snack.

  4. thats great that you’ve managed to have those snacks last that long :). I started adding chocolate chips to my morning cereal, ya know to spice it up a little bit, and they all got eaten within 4 days. LOL! 🙂