Contemplation

So, I’m kinda sorta maybe thinking about doing a marathon again. I ran the ING Georgia Marathon in 2007 and had a horrible time. It’s been 3.5 years and I’m kind of thinking that I might want to give it a second shot. I’ll be honest, reading all those Chicago Marathon recaps played a part in making me feel this way, but I do sort of want to come back and kick that marathon’s ass. Or at least finish is faster than 6 hours! I’m still unsure. Primarily because I feel like if I do start devoting my time to marathon training, I won’t get to see Jason as much. Our schedules are totally opposite and we don’t see each other that much as is, I can’t imagine how it would be if I was going to be running double the mileage that I’m running now.

If I do decide to do it, I’m definitely going to train with a group. Last time I did it alone and let me tell you, running 20 miles by yourself is no picnic.

It’s not the distance that scares me, although it probably should, it’s really the time commitment.

All this contemplation made me want Brussels Sprouts. Isn’t it weird that they’re called Brussels? I thought it was Brussel until like a year ago.

IMG_3788.JPG

I used this recipe and they were delicious. Brussels sprouts get a bad rap. I also had a naked veggie burger and then I was still hungry so I had a pb sandwich. I’m getting better at cooking meals, but I still have my random dinner nights like tonight.

21 responses to “Contemplation

  1. The majority of my nights end up being random. It’s hard since I work out so late, I feel like I eat half of my day’s calories after 7pm but that’s right after I burned 500 calories during a 6 mile run.

    The idea of a marathon kind of scares the living crap out of me though I suppose that’s the point. Have you researched groups or coaches you could work with?

  2. A marathon, huh? I still struggle to run 4 miles. I really admire marathoners; I’m starting to understand just how much hard work it is to reach that kind of athleticism. I also got a jolt from reading the Chicago Marathon recaps, makes me wanna push myself harder!

  3. ooh i’m not a big fan of brussels sprouts!

    go for the run!! you have nothing to lose! just run (:

  4. I feel the exact same way…I was looking at a Spring 2011 Marathon so that I could capitalize on my endurance after our half. But..I’m scared of the time commitment and just kind of want to work out just to work out. On the other hand, how awesome would it feel after each long run and to cross the finish line after 26.2 miles??? I’ve never ran one so I don’t know the feeling. I am sure you could destroy that old record.

  5. Haha…I never knew that it was Brussels until recently either.

    I say go for it!!

  6. I have to admit, I’ve thought about it too…. I think I need to get in half shape first though!

    Gosh, you made me recall my solo 20 miler! ooooooh my marathon training memories!!!

  7. I know it – the time commitment is the scariest part of long distance running for me, also. Maybe Jason could get a bike and ride with you on some of your runs? That could be fun. 🙂

    Roasted Brussels are the best. Yum.

  8. I thought it was brussel until right now! learn something new every day 🙂
    Marathon training is rewarding but definitely time consuming…I actually can’t wait to be done with training soon, so it’s hard for me to say you should do it. I agree that reading the Chicago recaps is so motivating though.

  9. Them being called Brussels intrigues me too. LOL

    I know before you have said that you don’t really like training, but enjoy the races. If you think the pride of accomplishing another marathon (which IS awesome) would make the training worth it and not be too frustrating, you should go for it. But if it would just be a pain the entire long training process and leave you dreading running, then maybe not. Just my thoughts!

  10. Brussels (no idea that’s what they were called) scare the crap out of me. I think my dad traumatized me at a young age by forcing me to eat them and they were gross.

    Marathon training does take up a lot of time, but if you really want to take it on again I say go for it.

  11. I would love to run a marathon but I would settle for a 5K at this point.

    I LOVE Brussels. We had them last night. My kids have grown to love them.

  12. I can relate to the tough decision you’re talking about – marathon training is a huge time sucker. Maybe Jason could do some running with you? Or you could somehow plan your runs when he’s doing other things? I’m also curious why your first marathon was not a good experience (I’m just finding your blog for the first time!)

    • It was really hot out, basically. The marathon was in March and the week of it, the temps went from the 50s to the 90s. I got dehydrated and sick after.

  13. I thought it was Brussel until recently, too! Whoops.

    That is very exciting about possibly doing another full! Maybe you could start a training program, but wait to sign up for the race until about a month out? That way if it gets to be too much, you don’t have to worry about the registration fees. My friends have trained on 3-4 days a week for fulls….if I ever am able to do one again, that’s the way I’m going to go!

  14. if u feel up to it, u should totally run it. especially since u’d be doing it for you. no pressure, no stress, no expectations. just to challenge ur body and mind ❤

  15. I just read Holly’s comment and completely agree with what she said. Only go for it if you think it’s going to really make you happy, don’t put any unnecessary pressure on yourself! 🙂

  16. You should totally rock the marathon girl. I think training in a group would be a lot of fun. I am brussels sprouts fanatic. They are one of my favorite vegetables

  17. Do it!!! We can virtually train together, hahah. How exciting!

    I always thought it was Brussel until I started reading food blogs.

  18. I agree with Holly and Em – do it if its something that will make you happy!! I’m in the same boat as you now – deciding if I’ll do another half in the spring or not.