Faster than I thought

Last night, I went out for sushi. Real sushi, as in fish. I took the leap. Of course, eating fish for the first time in months the night before a race probably wasn’t the best idea in hindsight. After dinner, we went to Menchie’s for frozen yogurt. I’m not sure if it was the sushi or the yogurt really, but my stomach was not feeling very good last night. I actually woke up at 5 am totally feeling like I was going to puke and sat on the floor of the bathroom. It passed and I went back to sleep. No, before you even think it, I’m not pregnant!

I woke up again an hour later bleary-eyed and not really wanting to go out into the cold and run. This is one of those times when I wish I liked coffee.

IMG_3858.JPG

I made a peanut and pumpkin butter sandwich and left my house around 6:30. The race was in Peachtree City which is about a half hour south of downtown Atlanta. According to Google Maps, it would take me an hour to get there. There were two races, a 5K and a 15K. I thought that they both started at 8:30, but turned out that the 15K, which I was doing, started at 8:50. So when I arrived at 7:30, I was a little bit early! It actually was for the best because I was able to get a great parking spot right near the number pick up.

October in Atlanta has weird weather. We’re still pretty warm in the day but the mornings are downright chilly. After picking up my number, I went back into my car and tried to keep warm.

IMG_3860.JPG

That’s supposed to be my cold face. I played around on my phone for a while and finally surrendered the Vermont sweatshirt and made my way to the start line.

Peachtree City is interesting. People drive golf carts everywhere. Seriously. I mean, there are cars too, but people really go to the grocery store in their golf carts. And since there are so many, there are tons of golf course paths which is what the race was held on.

The first 2 miles were on the street. The mile markers were well marked and they had volunteers with stopwatches shouting out the mile times. The only problem that I had was that they were calling out the seconds, but not the minute. Like when I got to mile 2, I heard “eleven.” I had no idea if it was 19:11, 20:11 or 21:11. I felt better at this point, at least.

After the second mile, we made our way unto the golf course paths. They were in the woods and really fu to run on. I ate at GU at mile 5 and basically felt fine the entire course. After I got to Mile 8 and finally heard the minute time, I started doing the math. If I ran the last 1.375 miles at a 10 minute pace, or what felt like one, I could PR. Last year, I ran this race in 1:38.

And guess what time I got through the finish line this year? 1:35!! 3 minute PR!

IMG_3864.JPG

Last year I declared Peachtree City Classic 15K as my favorite race and I’m going to have to stick to that. It’s just such a unique course and not very hilly either. I’d recommend it for an Atlanta runners. They also have a 5K if 15Ks aren’t your thing.

18 responses to “Faster than I thought

  1. Congratulations lady! That sounds like a great course. I grew up in Clayton Co., so I know all about Peachtree City and their wacky golf cart antics.

  2. Great job Lee!! You look so happy in the last picture:)

    Hooray for real sushi! Hopefully next time you have it you feel better.

  3. Congratulations on the PR!! Sounds like a fun/interesting course which is always key for races.

    After I ate shrimp for the first time in over a year, my stomach felt weird too but as I slowly added it into my diet I didn’t get tummy aches anymore.

  4. Hee hee, look at that proud smile! And well-deserved, too! The weather there sounds like LA’s…it’s COLD at night and in the morning, but really warm in the afternoon.

  5. Awesome job! You’re a speed demon! πŸ˜€

  6. WAY TO GO on your wonderful PR! πŸ™‚ We drove through Peachtree City last night to get to a wedding and it never fails to intrigue me with all of those golf carts. How fun would that have been to live there as a teenager before having a driver’s license?!

  7. Congrats on the run Lee! So glad it turned out well for you! The golf cart thing is kind of crazy.

  8. What a great run…sounds like you are GOOD TO GO for your half marathon goal πŸ™‚

  9. Good for you πŸ™‚

  10. wahooooo!! Congrats on the PR, Lee!!! I love that picture of you at the end. You are beaming!!

    Um, I need to move to this place, NOW. I absolutely LOVE driving golf carts! People in my parent’s neighborhood drive them, but not outside the neighborhood. I am like a little kid, I swear….but I really want one. πŸ™‚

  11. AWESOME JOB on that PR!!!! That is incredible!! Esp with your “issues” the night prior and all πŸ˜‰

  12. I’d rather be too early than feel like you were rushing – glad your tummy issues resolved themselves – and great to PR!

  13. Congrats on a great race!

  14. Congrats on a great race, Lee! πŸ™‚

  15. Congrats on a PR!

  16. Awesome job on your PR!!!! I love it when it’s unexpected like that πŸ™‚

  17. Awesome job! Congrats on the PR. Love the cold face. The colder temps make for a good race though.