Halloween Candy

I love magazines. I always have. For a long time, I read all the Fitness type ones every single month. Recently, though, I decided that they were all the exact same and stopped buying them. Instead, I found a new favorite magazine in Real Simple. I was looking in a recent issue and the recipe for Candy Corn Pretzel Bark kind of stood out to me as a fun, easy recipe.

My neighbors had a party last night so I decided to try out the recipe and bring it to their house. It was really easy.

IMG_3795.JPG

You just let it chill for about an hour and then break it up into pieces.

IMG_3796.JPG

This was a fun recipe but I thought it was way too sweet. The combination of the candy corn and the white chocolate was just too much. I think it might have been better with a not so sweet type of chocolate. I’m not a big fan of white chocolate.

Jason was working last night so I went over to the neighbors alone. I’ve only met them once, so going by myself really pushed me out of my comfort zone. Unfortunately, I drank a little too much to compensate for my shyness. Ugh. Oh well, learn from it and move on, right?

That meant not beating myself up for engaging in not so healthy behavior and making a decent dinner. I made Butter Bean Soup but the star of the dinner was Brussels Sprouts. I am really digging them lately.

IMG_3799.JPG

The soup was good, but not great.

How was your weekend?

16 responses to “Halloween Candy

  1. Yum – great looking dinner. The bark also has my mouth watering. I have a thing for candy corn. Usually I’m not much of a sweet tooth but those are just soo good to me. πŸ™‚

  2. Wow, I want some of that candy corn pretzel bark!! Gosh I love Halloween candy.

  3. WOW……… omg. I have GOT to make that candy corn pretzel bark!! We even have gf pretzels in our cabinet right now! I have got to make this for us ASAP!! πŸ™‚

  4. Those would not have been too sweet for me! Good for you for brushing off the nervous drinking…I do that a LOT in social situations too. And I eat out of nervousness. It doesn’t help but what can ya do.

  5. Now that’s a good idea for making easy candy, I’ll have to give that a try.

  6. That candy does look really sweet but really good too! πŸ™‚ I love candy corn. so much.

  7. Nervous drinking is the story of my life. πŸ™‚

    That bark looks good, but you’re right, it’s weird that they suggested white chocolate and candy corn together. I guess the good thing about it is that you wouldn’t have to eat much to get a sugar fix!

  8. LOVE that Candy Corn Bark idea – but I’m with ya on white chocolate, not a fan! πŸ™‚ I think I might try to make it with dark chocolate and sprinkle some salt on there! πŸ™‚

  9. I may just have to look into making that bark (but with a semisweet or dark chocolate base) to bring to small groups this week. Easy and candy corn? You know how to sell a treat to me!

  10. The Candy Corn bark LOOKS awesome but I would probably agree with you on it being too sweet with the while chocolate. I love candy corn myself but white chocolate might be overkill. I am enjoying brussels myself and I have found that roasting them with balsamic vinegar is awesome! Really anyway you do it is great though.

  11. I love candy corn but it alone is too sweet for me. I usually mix a bowl of candy corn, pretzels and peanuts. The sweet/salty combination is perfet! I also wanted to say congrats on the PR! πŸ™‚

  12. Candy corn reminds me of eating too much as a kid and looking at it literally makes me kinda nauseous.

    But those brussel sprouts do look awesome!

  13. Candy corn makes my teeth hurt alone. I may have to make this for our Halloween party. The kids would probably love it.

    I love the brussels. So tasty!!

  14. I’m sorry it was too sweet but it sure looks beautiful and festive!

  15. That looks really neat! I will definitely try it, although I don’t like white chocolate so I’ll sub in dark πŸ™‚

  16. whoa that candy corn pretzel bark looks insane! i want, i want, i want!! (im ok with too sweet)