Ten At Ten

Last night, Jason and I went out to 5 Seasons Brewery for dinner with friends that we hadn’t seen in at least a year if not more. None of us had been there before, but I’d been wanting to check it out. All of the food on the menu is organic and local and they have a lot of gluten free selections as well. I eat plenty of gluten, but I thought it was a nice touch. For my meal, I ordered the Portobello Mushroom Sandwich with a side salad. Jason and I also shared the Expensive Mushrooms Cooked Under a Brick because we thought the name was funny. They were good, albeit expensive.

I didn’t take any pictures but I really liked the restaurant. All organic and tasty to boot. This place has next blogger meetup/dinner written all over it!

We stayed there for about two hours and then just went home. I had a 10 mile run to do in the morning, so I wanted to get a good night’s sleep. This was my last long run before my half-marathon next Saturday. I’d normally been doing my long runs around my house but I was kind of getting sick of it, so I drove about half an hour to the race site – The Silver Comet Trail. Isn’t it pretty?

IMG_0132.JPG

Trust me, it’s a huge difference from the main roads near my house. I got there around 10 am. Sometimes I feel like a freak for getting up early on the weekends and doing these long runs, but the place was packed with runners, bikers and walkers which made me happy. I’m not the only one who does this crazy stuff!

My legs felt like molasses for the first three miles or so. After that, I started to feel better. I was running Garmin-less since I still cannot find my Garmin. Although there are mile markers on the trail, they’re sporadic. I knew from previous runs that there wasn’t a 5 mile marker, so I decided that after the 4.7 mile marker, I would run until I saw the next one, even though I knew it would be more than 5. It was at 5.3 and I took a Hammer Gel and turned around.

The return trip was uneventful. I felt fine until about mile 9 or 9.5 and then I just wanted to be done. This always happens to me no matter what the distance is. The last mile seems to take an eternity. I finally got there and literally laid down in the grass at the trail head.

IMG_0134.JPG

10.6 miles done.

11 responses to “Ten At Ten

  1. That trail looks gorgeous. I find trail running so much more enjoyable than running on roads. Seeing all the other runners/bikers/walkers is really motivating.
    Great job on finishing your last long run before the race!!

  2. YAY! I love the Silver Comet and always make a trip to run on it when I visit Nick. He only lives about 10 minutes away. Congrats! We are soo ready!

  3. Nice work on the 10 miler! I just got home from my first 8 miler – WOOO I am hurtin! You are going to rock that half next week!

    As someone on the lookout for gluten free items, I always appreciate to hear that restaurants are becoming aware of that sort of thing when creating menus. Now only if I could find one in my area!

  4. Congrats on the great ten miler. It definitely does make it easier to have other crazy fitness people around.

    The restaurant you went to last night sounds awesome. I love the name of the mushrooms, too! 🙂

  5. Great job on your 10-miler. Silver Comet is such a great place to go when you don’t want to feel like a crazy long distance runner. 😉 Today was the perfect day for a long run!

  6. elizabeth whitehill

    Great going. So glad I got to read this post…I’m getting up to run tomorrow with my training buds. We’re doing 10 miles, and we are meeting way early. 5AM! I hope it goes well! I always get a little anxious thinking about it. Love your blog, I just found it. I’m training for a half marathon on Thanksgiving Day!

  7. Good job on the 10 miler! I am the same way – a change of pace can make all the difference!

  8. Great job on the run! I agree- the last mile always seems like forever (regardless of the distance). And the restaurant sounds like a total blast. Good luck next weekend!! Can’t wait to read your race report.

  9. Way to knock out 10 miles in the a.m. I get so tired of the same running routes, so I often drive to different places around town to spice it up a bit.

  10. Gorgeous path! Awesome job on your long run! You’ll kick butt in your race!! 🙂 Good luck next weekend!