Candler Park Fall Fest

Not surprisingly, I was starving about an hour after my run on Saturday. Jason had a rare day off so we decided to have lunch at Eats.

IMG_3855.JPG

IMG_3860.JPG

I always forget about Eats, but it’s one of my favorite quick restaurants. They have two counters that you order from, one is pasta and the other is meat and vegetables. I always get the same thing – the four vegetable platter with black beans, couscous, broccoli and green beans from the meat and three counter. Each plate comes with hunk of cornbread. The vegetables are all vegetarian. (In the South, you have to ask! But they have a sign that says so here.)

IMG_3862.JPG

Black beans, couscous and hot sauce is such a good combination. I need to eat that at home more often.

After lunch, we drove to the Candler Park Fall Festival. It was a small festival with some art booths, food and live music.

IMG_3894.JPG

IMG_3923.JPG

IMG_3893.JPG

IMG_3907.JPG

It was the perfect day for a fall festival. Sunny and clear, warm but not too warm. A lot people brought their dogs and we were kicking ourselves for not bringing Murphy but we weren’t sure if the festival allowed dogs and Murphy isn’t too good in the car anyway.

They had some free Chiropractic Consultations at a booth so I got one. They told me what I already know – that one of shoulders is higher than the other. They also told me that one of my hips is higher than the other too, which I didn’t know. Coupled with my crappy posture from sitting at a computer all day, my back doesn’t look to be in the best shape. (Or they were just trying to solicit my business.) But I do have really bad posture and slight scoliosis. I need to work on improving my posture if I don’t want to have a hunchback when I’m older! Any tips?

12 responses to “Candler Park Fall Fest

  1. It has been so long since we have gone to EATS! Love that place! Looks like a great day with your hubby! Have a good Monday and try to stay dry!

  2. I have awful posture also, it sucks! Looks like a great day though!

  3. Great plate of veggies, great fall festival! Looks like a fun way to spend the day!

  4. Looks like you guys had an awesome day. Your lunch looks delicious!

    I have bad posture too – sitting in front of the computer is rough. I take stretch breaks and I think that yoga has done wonders for my posture.

  5. Looks like a fun day 🙂

    No tips here, but I’d love to hear ’em if you get some! 🙂

  6. What an awesome day! I love that you added you have to ask if veggie platters are vegetarian in the south. Nothing like a little fat back in your beans when you are trying to avoid meat.

  7. I have horrible posture…so any tips you get…pass to me! 🙂 Good job on the run!

  8. I got a free chiropractic consultation last year, and for a good month I tried my best to have straight posture at my desk. Not surprisingly, it went by the wayside very quickly. Let’s hope we were just being taken advantage of and that our posture is fine. 🙂

  9. That restaurant looks SUPER cool. Great meal. I hear ya about asking about veggies being vegetarian- I ask at pretty much every restaurant. Hope your week is off to a good start

  10. I have never spoken to a chiropractor. I fear what they would tell me. And right now I probably would hand over my wallet with any promises of relieved hip/lower back pain. LOL

    This weekend was perfect for outdoor things. Glad you had fun!

  11. yoga would be great for your back! Mine has completely improved since I started doing it. Much more strengthened and lengthened. Cute pic of you and husband!!!!

  12. I heart chiropractic! I go once a week–not because there’s anything ‘wrong’ with me but because it’s really made a huge difference in my wellness =).

    Your town looks so cute! I’m excited to hear how your race goes =).