Race Week

How did race day creep up on me so quickly? I feel like I just signed up for this race and here it is on Saturday. This will be my seventh half-marathon and third Silver Comet, so while I know what to expect, I always get a case of pre-race nerves. Jason offered to come watch, but this race is not very good for spectators. It’s an out and back on a paved path. You can’t park at the finish line, so Jason would have to take a shuttle from the parking lot which is a big pain. I found out a few weeks ago that my friend Dave is also running the race. He’s way faster than me, so while we won’t run together, it’s nice to feel like someone that I know will be there too.

I need to make sure I’m prepared ahead of time since we’re having a blogger dinner the night beforehand. This means buying some more GU, making a playlist and charging my ipod and figuring out what to wear. Jason found my Garmin (YAY!) so I need to decide if I’m going to use it or not. I typically don’t use it during races because I find myself glancing down at my wrist way too often and if I’m not going as fast as I want to be, it kind of ruins the race for me. We’ll see.

I have to admit, it’s kind of nice to taper this week. Jason and I went to the gym and I ran 4 miles on the treadmill. Afterwards, I wanted to a quick and easy dinner. I’d gone to the Farmer’s Market over the weekend and bought a bunch of veggies, but no ingredients to make a complete meal. Fortunately, we had a box of ravioli in the freezer.

IMG_3943.JPG

I really like this ravioli. I didn’t even realize that it was vegan the first time I had it. It tasted like cheese. It’s a bit pricey at $4.99, but when you consider that it makes two servings, it’s really not that costly. Plus, they sell it at Kroger in addition to Whole Foods, so that’s a plus.

IMG_3947.JPG

Ravioli with Zucchini and Goat Cheese
Serves 2

1 package of ravioli
1 extra large zucchini
1 tbsp coconut oil
1/2 cup crumbled goat cheese
salt and pepper to taste

1. Cook ravioli according to package directions.
2. Slice zucchini and saute in coconut oil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.
3. When zucchini is cooked, mix with ravioli.
4. Mix goat cheese into ravioli and zucchini mixture.

I really liked this. I wasn’t sure about using coconut oil but it gave it a really nice flavor.

And because Murphy hasn’t had any face time on the blog lately, here you go.

IMG_3930.JPG
18 responses to “Race Week

  1. That is one good-lookin dog! I love that brand of ravioli, I had no idea it was vegan either.

  2. I would have never thought to use coconut oil! Such a clever combination πŸ™‚ Good luck with your taper week and your race this weekend!

  3. ravioli is sooo good and that kind looks awesome. i had half of a year-old can of chef boyardee ravioli for lunch yesterday–probably not quite as good as this one.

    enjoy tapering, and good luck on your race!!

  4. Awww, sweet Murphy!!

    You’ll do great in your race this weekend! Isn’t it funny how they seem SO far away when we sign up for them, and then, suddenly, they’re HERE?!?

  5. Those ravolis look delish!

    Good luck on Saturday!!!

  6. You’re gonna do great this weekend! I can’t believe mine is less than a month away.

  7. What a handsome pup! And yes, taper weeks rule. You’re gonna rock this race.

  8. My husband sat in the car with my 9 month old last year during the race. He said never again. Fast, fun race though.

    You really should dress up! Only a handful of people do it, so you’ll stand out from the crowd (in a good way of course).

  9. Wow, so exciting that the race is nearly here! And I’m glad your Garmin has been found!! πŸ™‚

    Murphy is so cute. Thanks for the picture!

  10. Good luck this weekend! I’ll be out and about helping with the race so look for me!

  11. You really can’t go wrong with ravioli. Your dinner looks yummy! It sounds like you are getting things together and ready for the race! Have a great day Lee!

  12. I LOVE that picture of Murphy – so sweet!

    I can’t believe your race is already here, too! You’re gonna do so well. Good luck, Lee! πŸ™‚

  13. Murphy needs more face time! When you come to Seneca in Dec, will you be bringing Murphy?

  14. GOOD luck!!! Not that you need it or anything, but still. πŸ˜‰ I’ll be thinking of you on Saturday!!

  15. I’m running a half next week! You just reminded me I need to buy more GU:) thanks–good luck!