D’oh

The weather today was awful. Thunderstorms and rain all day. The kind of weather that makes you want to curl up in cozy pajamas under a blanket, not put on heels and go to work. Oddly enough, it was hot out though. Oddly hot for the end of October – in the mid 80s. By the end of the day the rain didn’t seem to show any signs of stopping which begged the question, “Do I go home after work or to the gym?” When I got to my car, I realized that it wasn’t raining that hard so I decided to go to the gym. I just had a 30 minute elliptical workout in mind and I figured I might as well get it done.

Going to the gym is the hardest part. It sometimes takes every fiber in my being to not turn left onto 85 North to go home after work! Okay, that’s a little bit of an exaggeration but it is hard to go sometimes. But usually once I’m there, I’m ready to workout. Which is why I was not pleased when I opened my gym bag and found this:

shoes.jpg

Not only did I bring two right shoes, but now I don’t know which is the older one and which is the newer one.

I came home and decided that it was a sign – I wasn’t going to the gym tonight, so I made a nice dinner instead.

IMG_3952.JPG

Baked tofu, bok choy and millet. I took some better pictures but accidently deleted them. I’m telling you, this hasn’t been my day. For the tofu, I marinated it in a bunch of random stuff – soy sauce, hot chili oil, lime juice and brown sugar – and baked it for about 35 minutes at 400 degrees. For the bok choy, I sauteed it in some olive oil and made a sauce out of 1/2 cup veggie broth, 1 tbsp soy sauce and 1 tsp cornstarch. The cornstarch makes it thicken up and it tastes like Chinese food. The millet was cooked in a rice cooker with a little bit of coconut oil.

Murphy ate peanut butter out of a kong.

IMG_3931.JPG

So I’m a little bit worried about two things concerning my race on Saturday. One is that I think I’m coming down with a cold. I had a scratchy throat this morning and now, in addition, I have a bit of a runny, stuffy nose. I’m hoping it’s just a mild cold and I’ll be able to run through it, or it will be gone by then. Two, my knee is bothering me just slightly. It doesn’t hurt when I run, but it’s been kind of acting up after. On Sunday, the day after my 10.5 mile run, it felt very stiff. I didn’t run on Monday and kind of forgot about it until the gym last night. I ran 4 miles and it didn’t hurt at all but it did hurt when I was leaving the gym and walking down a flight of stairs. Hmm, I really hope both of these things are non-issues by Saturday.

15 responses to “D’oh

  1. Ah, the old PB in the kong trick – works every time!

    I have the same issue with leaving work. I KNOW I should turn left to head the gym, but I really want to turn right to go home! It’s even worse when you get yourself there after a long day to find you don’t have the right equipment. One time I realized I grabbed my brother’s shoes instead of my own!

  2. Oh my goodness, this made me crack up. Two right shoes? That’s hilarious! Life makes me laugh =)

  3. Hehe, I’ve never packed two of the same shoes but have definitely forgotten socks and a sports bra numerous times. Bummer!

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed that your cold and knee pain dissolve quickly!!

  4. It’s been oddly hot here too!

    I hope your race goes okay!! I’ll be sending good vibes your way for the next few days!

  5. Oh my gosh, that is hysterical! But I’m sure also very annoying, too. I hate it when I forget something – it ALWAYS happened when I packed a bag for swimming!

    I hope your knee feels better. 😦 Maybe try taking ibuprofen and icing it a lot?

  6. I’d say load up on anti inflamatories until the race, buy some nasal spray and ignore everything haha. If your nose is stuffy the nasal spray will get you at least through the race.

  7. That’s so funny about the shoes! As for your worries, load up on Airborne and take some advil before the race! That’s my advice 🙂 Are you going to wear long sleeves?

  8. Hope you’re feeling well. That would be awful to get sick now. 😦

    And I hate when things like that happen to toss off your best intentions though. But you’re right. Sometimes its just a sign. LOL

  9. I agree with the others, begin taking some Advil (3 times a day) now. In order for it to work as an anti-inflammatory, it has to build up in your system and that takes a few days.

  10. Stock up on those vitamins girl and get some rest for Saturday! No sickies allowed before the big race!!

  11. It’s been weirdly hot here too. Mid-seventies at the end of October in upstate NY? I’ll take it, but it’s weird!

    Hmm, can you look at the wear on the bottom of the shoes to determine which one is older?

    I hope you feel better! Murphy is too cute with his Kong.

  12. The baked tofu looks really good. What kind do you use and how do you prepare it? I would love to make it.

    • I believe that I used Nayasoya Extra Firm. I wrapped it up in paper towels and put it on top of a plate and then covered it with another plate topped with a heavy book to get the moisture out. I left it to press for about 30 minutes. Then I marinated it in a mixture of soy sauce, hot chili oil, lime juice and brown sugar (I didn’t really measure anything) and baked it for about 35 minutes at 400 (I think) flipping once halfway through.