Goals

I was tossing and turning all night. I think I was more worried about getting sick than actually getting sick. I woke up this morning with a stuffy nose and scratchy throat, but not any worse off than yesterday. I’ve been drinking Vitamin Water Zero and Airborne to try to stave off this cold. I feel okay, just a little stuffy, so hopefully I’ll stay that way. Even if I do get a little sick, I think I’ll still be totally fine to run the race on Saturday. Not sure how that will affect my time though.

So speaking of time, I do have a time goal for this race. Time goals are tricky. It feels great to achieve them but it feels awful when I don’t. It’s very important to set realistic goals. If they aren’t, it just sets me up for disappointment. I’m not going to lie though, I’m looking to PR. I think that I can do it and here’s why. In 2010, I have PR’d in the 5K, 10K and 15K distances! How awesome would it be to add half-marathon to that list? My half marathon PR is 2:16:30. And on Saturday, I’d really like to beat that. Ideally, I’d like to run this race in 2:15.

So, there’s that. Going to bed.

11 responses to “Goals

  1. Oh! Feel better! Rest + good food + lots of fluids! Good luck on Saturday. I’ll be racing too, in South Carolina! 🙂

  2. Good Luck on Saturday! Hope you feel better. You will be fine. As long as a cold doesn’t set into your chest- you can run through it. (That is what a lifetime runner friend of mine always told me.)

    Race goals are really tricky. I think for the half on Saturday my goal is to run an even pace. I always get sucked in to running way to fast at the beginning. Ideally, I would like to train myself to run negative splits.

  3. Good luck! Hope you feel better before the race, and remember to have fun!

  4. Looks like we have good conditions tomorrow! I think you can definitely PR!! Feel better!

  5. Oh no – I hope you’re feeling better already!

  6. you can do it!!! 2:15 in the bag.

  7. Feel better! And I think this weekend holds perfect weather for a PR for you!

  8. Good luck, Lee!!! Can’t wait to read about the race!

  9. Wow! Didn’t realize you PR’d in the last handful of races you did! I TOTALLY think you’ll rock the half today and you’ll def hit that PR!! Can’t wait to hear!!