Skinny Bitch Curry

Not knowing what to do on my lunch break plus a nearby Target is a dangerous combination. I think I frequent Target at least once a week just to get out of the office during lunch. I mostly try on clothes and buy some random items that we actually need. But sometimes I start to wander into the book and magazine section of the store. This happened the other day and started thumbing through the Skinny Bitch Cookbook. I read Skinny Bitch back when it came out and honestly, I didn’t really have an opinion on it. I thought some of the info was good but it didn’t profoundly affect my eating habits the way it has for some people. But once I got a glimpse of some of the food in this cookbook, I knew I had to buy it.

I’m kind of a compulsive cookbook buyer. Each new cookbook gives me hope that maybe one day I will cook. Maybe one day I will eat things other than pita pizzas and canned refried beans for dinner. I mean, sometimes I cook, but most often, I’m lazy. Long story short, I bought the cookbook.

After laying on the couch and watching crappy MTV shows that I secretly love for 5 hours post race, I decided I should cook. I thumbed through the dinners section and finally decided on Spicy Vegetable Curry.

I went to Kroger and bought the necessary ingredients.

IMG_3961.JPG

As I was chopping up all the veggies and getting ready to roll, I realized that I didn’t have any curry powder in my spice drawer. I really did not want to go back to Kroger, so I got together some spices that I thought might be good substitutes – turmeric, cumin and garam masala and then I consulted the Google to see if I was right.

IMG_3968.JPG

This was seriously one of the best things that I’ve ever made. A lot of the time when I cook, my meals turn out good, but not great. This was great. I did make a few changes in addition to not using curry powder (which you’d never be able to tell, by the way). I used half a red pepper instead of eggplant because I don’t really care for it and I used frozen okra instead of fresh. I also used minced refrigerated garlic and ginger. The recipe that I linked to above is a little wonky, at least in my browser. You are supposed to simmer the sauce for 30 minutes and then an additional 10 after you add the veggies.

I will definitely be making this again. So good. I think I’ll double the amount of vegetables though; it was almost like a soup.

I’m looking forward to seeing what else I can make out of this cookbook. Yum.

12 responses to “Skinny Bitch Curry

  1. That does look good. Nice job on replacing the curry with what you had on hand.

  2. Looks good! I eat curry all the time at the local thai restaurant and it’s always soupy like that – I’d like some more veg too, but I know that’s why it’s supposed to be 🙂 Yum!

  3. thanks for your comment! That curry looks so delicious! 🙂

  4. My sis gave me that cookbook for christmas last year, I love it! Haven’t made anything from it in awhile though, maybe I should.

  5. Good for you! This post made me so happy! You actually enjoyed cooking and eating. I missed you guys on Friday. Glad you had a great time and hopefully we can all get together soon!

  6. Yum, this sounds great. I love curry dishes. I feel like the coconut milk just kicks everything up a notch. I would definitely not be getting up off the couch to cook after a half marathon. 🙂 Good work.

  7. That definitely looks amazing. I love curry and don’t make it at home often enough. Good job!

  8. I’m not a fan of the Skinny Bitch original book, but that curry looks fantastic!

  9. Love the name, the look of it and your description – yum!

  10. I’m a compulsive cookbook buyer, too. So much that my friends gave me Borders giftcards to fuel my passion and urges. Looks like this one was worth every buck! 🙂

  11. That does sound really good! I love how you improvised with it.

  12. MMMMM I am always looking for new recipes like this, Love curry and I love when things come out really outstanding, I think there’s something about curry where it’s always good!