Restaurant Overkill

I’m not sure how to describe the Dekalb Farmer’s Market. It’s not what would first come to mind when you hear the words Farmer’s Market. Instead, it’s almost a warehouse like building filled with tons of exotic vegetables, fresh fish and meat and all kind of other random stuff. I can’t do all my grocery shopping there because they don’t have things like paper towel or Vitamin Water Zero, which have developed an unhealthy obsession with (only the lemonade and orange flavors), but I have started going there more often to get veggies and different grains. I have a new favorite grain – millet.

IMG_3880.JPG

Can you see the price on this? I got the whole thing for $1.20! Eating healthy does not have to be expensive. I’d describe millet as kind of a creamy, mushy couscous. Rumor on the street is that if you toast it, it doesn’t get as mushy, but I like the mushiness.

I cooked it in the rice cooker in some vegetable broth and mixed it with TJ’s Marinated Bean Salad.

IMG_3973.JPG

This was a meal from a few days ago. I just forgot to post it. It must have been from Monday, because I’ve gone out to eat for the past three nights. Truthfully, I kind of hate that. Not only is it costing me more money than if I ate at home, but I really don’t like not knowing what I’m eating. Sure, it’s fine once in a while, even once a week, but when it starts being an everyday thing, I get a little panicky.

Problem is that’s what my friends and I do. We’re at the age where we all have our separate lives and all of a sudden our weekends have gone from nights out at bars in groups to kid’s birthday parties (okay, I don’t really go to a lot of kids parties, but a lot of my friends do have kids and are busy on the weekends) and meeting up during the week suddenly seems more feasible. No one really wants to get home from work and cook for other people, so we end up going out! Don’t get me wrong, I love spending time with my friends, I just wish that we didn’t always have to spend that time at restaurants. I think I get this from my mother. She doesn’t like to eat out more than twice in a row either.

This weekend is probably going to bring another slew of restaurant meals. My little sister is coming to visit tomorrow. I guess I could cook for her maybe? I’m excited to see her. She’s one of my favorite visitors, just because she is, but also because she likes to take naps too! Last time she came, she was totally cool taking a nap in the middle of the afternoon. Takes after me, I suppose.

12 responses to “Restaurant Overkill

  1. I LOVE going out to eat. I love not knowing what I’m going to eat until I flip open the menu and peruse it. But I have no $$. So my dream is that someone will pay me to eat out at nice restaurants.

    Hee hee, your family just takes after each other. Does your mom like to nap too?

  2. Ha! Millet on the mind. I got mine at YDFM too, and picked it up for the first time because it’s so cheap. Yours looks excellent!

  3. I love millet in baked goods! Especially puffed millet

  4. I’m so with you on going out to eat. Once a week for dinner and once a weekend for brunch is more than enough for me.
    I think you should definitely cook for your sis! I find that out of town guests are usually looking to save $ anyways, since they spent money on traveling, and really appreciate a home-cooked meal.

  5. I’m with you about meeting friends out for dinner – it does get pricey. I like to invite my friends over for an easy weeknight dinner. That way the cost stays down and you can just chill at home. Or maybe you could meet up for coffee instead?

  6. I’m sipping a vitamin water zero “orange” right now! I only like this one and the lemonade, too. 🙂 I haven’t tried millet before but it sounds yummy.

    I know entirely what you mean about going out. I’ve been trying to get out and see friends more often but its tough when you don’t want to spend too much money and also want to be aware of what you’re eating. Maybe you could suggest potlucks so that no one has to cook an entire meal.

  7. My favorite line in this post “eating healthy does not have to be expensive” AMEN!

  8. Have so much fun with your sister. I haven’t had millet- but I like a little mush factor in my grains too. Eating out too much always makes me feel poopie. Hope you get in lots of home cooked meals this weekend.

  9. I’ve been really wanting to try millet!!

    Oh– and I LOVE the lemonade Vitamin Water zeros 🙂

  10. I love the lemonade vitawater zero. I get stressed out about eating out too but that’s because I’m a control freak!

  11. Wow, that is a great price! I need to visit this market. Ps- My mom told me that Amazing Savings has officially jacked their prices way up. 😦

    I don’t like going out to eat too much either. Because I’m the same way, I get a little paranoid about what may be in my food.

  12. I feel the same way- eating in restaurants gets old and cost-prohibitive. Sometimes it is the only time I get together with my friends though!