Farmer’s Market

I really like this extra hour in the day. Feels like 11 pm but it’s only 10 and I have a whole additional hour to mess around before I have to go to sleep? I’ll take it.

After I dropped Emma off at the airport, I decided to go to the farmer’s market. I’m always so impressed with the amount of food that I get there and how little it costs compared to shopping else where.

IMG_4025.JPG

IMG_4027.JPG

I got:

3 containers of Chobani
Organic Tempeh
Organic Tofu
Blue Corn Chips
Organic Eggs
Organic Grapes
3 zucchini
1 head of cauliflower
2 Japanese Sweet potatoes (never had them before)
Organic persimmon (also never had)
Organic Green Kale
Bunch of tarragon
baby bella mushrooms
2 red peppers
2 gala apples
big thing of frozen broccoli florets
Low-carb tortillas
Cinnamon crackers
Veggie broth
2 yellow onions
green pepper
Brussels Sprouts
Cottage cheese
Can of organic stewed tomatoes
curry

All for $50. Take that, Whole Paycheck!

For dinner, I made something else from the Skinny Bitch cookbook – Tempeh and Tarragon stew. I’ll preface this by saying that I’m not the world’s biggest tempeh fan. While I like tofu and fake meats a lot, tempeh is always just sort of meh. But for some reason, this recipe appealed to me and I thought I’d give it another go around.

IMG_4036.JPG

While it was good, I didn’t love it the way I did the Curry that I made last week. Oh well.

While I was at the Farmer’s Market, I found myself getting way too excited about all the different kinds of produce that they offer. I’ve realized that eating healthy, whole foods does a lot for my mood. If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you’ve probably noticed that I struggle with some body image issues from time to time. Eating crappy foods just seems to worsen those feelings. To be honest, the primary reason that I eat healthy most of the time is that I want to maintain a healthy weight. After going through my teens and early twenties a bit chunky, I can assure you that I don’t want to feel like that again. But I never really thought about how eating a certain way would make me feel better mentally. Physically, yes. Mentally, yes too, apparently.

Why do you eat the way you eat?

21 responses to “Farmer’s Market

  1. I definitely try to eat clean because it makes me feel good. A lot of processed foods and sugar makes me feel very blah and rundown.

  2. Wow– they sell so much food at your farmer’s market! Great haul for fifty bucks!

  3. Great farmers market finds! Especially the Japanese Sweet potatoes – I can’t wait to see what you do with those. I’m not a tempeh fan either…the texture just weirds me out. I eat a vegetarian diet because it simply makes me feel better and I love the way veg food tastes!

  4. wonderful post!! eating clean makes me feel good too…….yet sometimes it seems to be a little bit more work…..something we just gotta get over a guess? Put in the time, and our bodies will be thankful!!

    as for tempeh! I loveeeeeeeee it!!! I even had little tempeh pieces with PB and J once. SO GOOD. Don’t knock it till you’ve tried it!! Also, if you use my gliding calm rub, it’s pretty good too!

  5. I’m still dumbfounded every time I look at the receipt I get from YDFM, and it’s quality stuff too! I also don’t really get tempeh, I’ve tried it cooked and raw and I think it’s disgusting.

  6. *standing ovation*

    I love your farmer’s market finds!!! I’m determined to go to ATL next summer for a braves game, Crate and Barrel, and farmer’s markets. Whole Paycheck is great, but if I support local farmers, I’m all for it.

    Your last paragraph made me smile for you. I believe 100% in what you wrote and have for a while. I’m glad you’re noticing the mental benefits, too.

    • The only bad thing about this market is that there is not a lot of local food. It’s called a Farmer’s Market but it’s not really the right term for it. If you ever come to Atlanta, we should go! They have a great hot and cold bar and little eating area too.

  7. What a great haul! Looks like an amazing farmers market!

    I love the way you identified how eating healthy is a physical and a mental thing. I think its much more of a mental thing for me as I don’t necessarily notice the physical changes right away… Its definitely a good thing, though. πŸ™‚

  8. I would love to know which market you go to. I am in the ATL area and just started eating wheat free/gluten free and it is proving challenging as I can not find many yummy tasting products at the regular stores. A friend told me to try a farmers market.

    Great deals!

    • This is the Dekalb Farmer’s Market, actually it’s really called Your Dekalb Farmer’s Market. It’s definitely not a traditional farmer’s market but they have a ton of stuff. It’s near Decatur. Hope this helps.

  9. Hmm, I eat the way I eat to feel good. With some indulgences here and there, because that feels good too πŸ™‚

  10. oh man, all for $50!? i could never get get all that stuff for anywhere close here in hawai’i. it’s ridiculous how much we pay for food =/.

    looks YUMMY though! i heart persimmons!

  11. looks like a very complete farmers market! all of it sounds delicious!!

  12. Wow! Looks like you got some great stuff!

  13. I eat the way I do because I love having energy and just feeling GOOD. Too bad I don’t crave my normal way of eating while pregnant. I’m sure it doesn’t help the fatigue and crankies. LOL

    Glad you had a good weekend! And hope you enjoyed your extra hour. πŸ™‚

  14. That’s a lot of stuff for a great price! You go!

    I’m glad you had a great weekend!

    I eat what I eat so that I feel like i’m not on a diet. This way, it’s close enough to the real thing to where I don’t crave the real thing every. single. day. πŸ™‚

  15. Loooooove the Dekalb Farmer’s Market! One of my FAVORITE places in Atlanta. I usually make it there once a week to stock up. (Oh, those fresh pastries! Sinful!)

    • Have you had the muffins? I love the orange one. So good!

      • Oh, goodness… No, I haven’t had the orange ones… I’ve had the granola muffin (I think that’s what it’s called….) and it was amazing. I’m usually too busy stuffing my face with the coconut macaroons and chocolate croissants to sample the muffins!