Romp and Chomp

My sister Emma arrived on Friday night. By the time we got home from the airport, it was 8 o’clock. We thought about going out to eat, but were both enjoying being on the couch so we decided to get Chinese delivery instead. When I was a kid, Chinese delivery was a staple of my diet. Now, not so much, although I do enjoy it. Since we are new to this particular part of town, I consulted Yelp to find a place with a good review and came up with Mandarin Palace which was pretty good.

We had to get up early for our race, so we hit the sack around 11. The 6:30 am wake up call wasn’t too bad but the fact that it was suddenly 30 degrees out was kind of a shock. We drove to Cabbagetown for the race, the Romp and Stomp, which is part of the Chomp and Stomp chili festival. This is a pretty little race, I think it tops out at 1000 people. Registration was smooth, but what I didn’t like is that they gave us the t-shirt before the race. Our car was too far away to go back to drop it off, so we committed the racing faux pas of wearing the shirt during the race. I hate it when they give you the shirt at the start line. I have run a 10K with a shirt in my hand before. Annoying.

I did this race last year and it was messed up. The police officer directed the lead runner incorrectly and the race was shorted like .6 of a mile. They promised that it wouldn’t happen this year and I’m happy to say that it didn’t. I wasn’t able to get my best time because of some major congestion at the start (we were sort of in the back) but I did finish in 29:30. I’m happy with anything less than 30 minutes.

*I need to stop blogging right now because Murphy is in the backyard barking hysterically at something. I’m sure my neighbors love me.*

After the race, we drove back home, took showers and lounged around for a bit before going back to the festival, this time to taste the chili with my friend Jaime in tow.

The festival was around Cabbagetown Park.

IMG_3994.JPG

It was very crowded.

IMG_3983.JPG

We made our way through the crowds and I was disappointed to find that I didn’t see much vegetarian chili. Last year, they had a lot. It was kind of frustrating to wait in a line only to find out that there was nothing that I could eat when I got to the front. My sister had the idea that they need to have a flag or something indicating that there was a vegetarian option at the various tents. I had one chili sample and then I ended up buying a vegetarian sloppy joe.

IMG_3995.JPG

We mostly just sat around and listened to music and talked. It was pretty chilly (ha, I almost wrote chili) out but not that bad when we were in the sun.

IMG_4002.JPG

IMG_4005.JPG

IMG_4007.JPG

My friend Danny came and met us around 4 and we found some art booths and looked at those for a while. It was still pretty crowded, but it was getting colder out so we decided to bid adieu to the festival and go back to my house to regroup (aka let Murphy out).

IMG_4014.JPG

We ended up going to Panahar for dinner. Panahar is Bangladeshi food. It’s very similar to Indian food. This restaurant is in some random shopping center, but it’s quite popular. They have a pretty expansive menu. The waiters kind of tell you what to eat. As in, they say, “What kind of meat do you like? Oh, you want vegetarian, how about trying number 20.” I did just that and had some sort of sweet potato and lentil dish. I didn’t take any pictures, but trust me, it was good.

We went home in food comas and both fell asleep on the couch while watching MTV’s True Life. Yup, my sister definitely takes after me!

5 responses to “Romp and Chomp

  1. Sounds like you’re having an awesome weekend! Great job on the race!!

    Enjoy the rest of your time with your sister.

  2. bangladeshi – sounds really interesting. i have never had that.

    i was just deleting emails and saw your ? about the hyphenated name! they will have his name (unger). hart (my previous last night) will be their middle name!

  3. Sounds like a good time. That sucks about the race getting cut short last year, glad they fixed that.

  4. I really want to try Panahar now!!!

    Great job on your race! Personally, I am always thrilled with sub-10 minute miles! 🙂

  5. I really want to try Panahar now!!!

    Great job on your race! Personally, I am always thrilled with sub-10 minute miles! 🙂