Boring Post

I bet you can’t guess which meal was my idea and which was Jason’s.

Pasta Primavera

IMG_4051.JPG

or Millet “Mashed Potatoes” with Mushroom Gravy with baked tofu?

IMG_4063.JPG

Sometimes Jason is a good sport when it comes to meals that I want cook, but stuff like millet mashed potatoes is a bit much, I think. His pasta primavera was really good. He sauteed some vegetables and mix them with Emeril’s pasta sauce (my favorite brand) and Morningstar Farms sausage crumbles.

My dish wasn’t quite as good. I spent some time looking for a millet recipe and found this. I decided to risk it and make the entire recipe in the hope that it would be good and I’d have some for leftovers.

The recipe said it made 4-6 servings and I’d say that it definitely made 6. This was okay – sort of bland. I used water instead of broth and maybe that contributed to the blandness. I also didn’t use any onions because we didn’t have any. Meh. I’ll eat the leftovers but I’m not going to be excited for them. Oh well. Know any good millet recipes? I really just preferred eating it plain to tell the truth.

I wouldn’t consider this a recipe fail, but I don’t think I’ll make it again. The pasta primavera was much, much better.

I’ve decided not to run a marathon next spring. It was 30 something degrees out last Saturday morning and I was reminded that running in the cold winter air is not really what I’d call fun. If I did train for a marathon, it’d be all winter. I know I live in the South and that it doesn’t get that cold here, but it still gets cold. Really.

So, instead, I will focus on running a faster 10K. I need a training plan. I never know what to do with myself when I don’t have one. I lifted some weights today and did a 30 minute speedwork run yesterday, alternating 3.5 mph with 7.0 mph.

This is a pretty boring post. My apologies!

13 responses to “Boring Post

  1. I had a fail today too. Messed up a cake I’ve made a bajillion times in trying to veganize it. Oh well, we’ll get the next ones right.

  2. Mmm, millet mash! It looks delicious… sorry it turned out bland. I wanna try it though (+ the broth and onions though, hehe).

    Eek, winter running sounds terrible out there! I’m definitely lucky to be able to run year round (even though I’ve lost some motivation lately…)

  3. Seeing those millet mashed potatoes made this post so not boring.

  4. I don’t blame you, I don’t think I could train for a marathon in winter weather. Marathon training is hard enough without the elements working against you!

  5. Love the new goal! Running a faster 10k, you can totally do it! I am STILL mulling over my next goal…I have a feeling it still might be another half..if my knees will behave that is.

  6. I hate it when I pick out a recipe that I think sounds really good, and it just turns out kind of blah. I would almost rather it be a BIG fail, you know?

  7. Hi Lee! I still haven’t tried millet and applaud you for your adventurousness. I tend to do what’s easy or what I know. I need to branch out more. 🙂

    Hope you have a great one.

  8. Its always good to try new recipes- even if they don’t turn out as fabulous as you thought they would. I hate hate running in the cold too. I guess its the southerner in us 🙂

  9. I must admit i’ve never tried millet – what’s it like? I think both the meals look really good, wish I had someone to cook yummy pasta for me!
    Hope you had a good day 🙂 xxx

  10. Both meals look delicious! I need to try millet out, I have never had it.

    At least you have a focus and plan now for running! That has to feel good!