10K plan

I decided to use Runner’s World Smart Coach for my 10K training program. These are the numbers that I plugged in:

Current Race time is : 58 minutes for a 10K (It’s actually 58 something, not 58 even but whatever)
Distance Training goal is 10K
You currently train – 16-20 miles a week
How hard to you want to train? Moderate
Your long-run day: Sunday
Your program starts 11/15/2010 and ends 2/26/2011
Length of training schedule: 15 weeks

The training looks doable. There are two easy runs, one run that’s either tempo or speedwork and one long run each week. The mileage gets up there. Maybe because I said I currently run 16-20 miles a week? By the end of the 15 weeks, my long runs are going to be almost half-marathon distance as this program tops out at 12. Kind of funny since my actual half-marathon training program topped out at 10.

I’m also going to run the GA half-marathon next March. I got some email that said that since I’d run it every year since the beginning, I’d get some special t-shirt and my name on the website. Cool. Plus, my friend Joan, who has run 2 halfs (halves?) with me wants to run it too. I am happy with my choice in not training for a spring marathon. Maybe someday I’ll attempt another one, but not right now.

I decided to start the training program next week instead of this one because Jason and I are going on a mini-vacation this weekend. We are going to Asheville, NC for the weekend. I’m really excited; everyone has told me that I’ll really enjoy Asheville. I’m not sure what we’re going to do there, but it’ll be nice to get away.

Even though I didn’t start my running program this week, I did run 3 miles today. I decided that I wanted to do it a bit faster than I normally do. I normally run on the treadmill around 5.8 mph (I’m faster outside) but today I decided to do it at 6.1. Honestly, it didn’t feel that different. I’m glad that I pushed myself to be faster, even if it was just by a little bit. When I’m running faster than normal, I tell myself, “You have to run faster to be faster.” It’s true. Sometimes I feel like running at my natural speed is going to get easier and I’ll just automatically run faster, but that really doesn’t happen and I need to push myself.

I’ve made two less than stellar meals this week and I didn’t want to risk making a third, so I went with something really easy – packaged veggie burgers, Brussels sprouts and kale chips. I find that the key to making kale chips is to use kale that looks like this:

IMG_4066.JPG

and not the bagged kind. I think the pieces in the bagged kale are too small.

IMG_4069.JPG

Happy veggie burgers! I just can’t get enough Brussels sprouts these days. After dinner, I wanted something sweet so I decided to make Fannetastic Food’s Pumpkin Muffins of Deliciousness.

I finally used my Kitchenaid mixer than I got for a wedding gift. I’m so used to mixing by hand that I haven’t really thought about using it until today. It made mixing so much easier. Plus, I felt like a real cook using it.

IMG_4078.JPG

And the finished product.

IMG_4082.JPG

I followed Anne’s recipe for the most part. The only things that I did differently were that I used craisins, 2% greek yogurt and a mushy banana instead of applesauce because that’s what I had at home. Yum, these were certainly delicious.

12 responses to “10K plan

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed the muffins! 🙂

  2. That’s a very solid training plan. I think something like that with heavier mileage would help build some speed in me. I’m determined to break 60.

    Ashville! I hope you have a great trip.

    And your mixer…love it!

  3. It’s weird, I used to feel so much slower outside than on a treadmill, now, I feel like it’s so much easier to hold a faster pace outside than in on the treadmill. Bizarre.

  4. Wow– 12 miles for a 10k? That’s a serious training plan!

  5. Wow, a 12-miler is intense for a 10k plan. BUT you will be all prepared for the March half marathon. Props to you for trying to go faster btw. I’ve really been pushing my speed lately, and I’ve improved SO much.

    I’ve never used bagged kale for kale chips. Fresh is the way to go so you get the longer, crispier peices for sure.

  6. The plan sounds great. And I think its really cool that you’ll get a t with your name on it for running the half again. I always feel more in the mood to cook more elaborate dinners in the fall- what about you? The muffins look tasty too. I just ran out of pumpkin (finally)- but I’m sure Ill pick more up

  7. That looks like a great plan! That is awesome about the half too. You’re a relic!

  8. Hi Lee! It sounds like you are really looking forward to your race – that’s great. I’m glad that you’re happy with your decision. 🙂

    I still haven’t tried making kale chips. Yet another “exotic” creation I’m somehow afraid of.

    Have a great one!

  9. I didn’t know you could plug in your info/wishes and get a custom training program! How perfect! I think you’ll do great 🙂 Dinner looks wonderful! I agree, kale chips have to be made with good, big, leafy, fresh kale 🙂

  10. That is true….if you always stay at the same pace that is the pace you still stay in. I’ve found my comfort pace, so I can’t seem to break it. But then I’m not into competitive running either; I just like to run and break a little sweat when I need it.

  11. Love your plan of attack! I’m sure you’ll do great. And you’re also doing another half – look at you go!