Awesome Asheville

Saturday night ended with more good food. We decided to go to Tupelo Honey which had been recommended to us by friends who had recently been to Asheville.

Our meals came with complimentary biscuits and homemade jam.

IMG_3889.JPG

I got something completely unlike me – the veggie bowl. I know what you’re thinking; it sounds exactly like something that I would get. Well, not really. This particular veggie bowl was very Southern. I’m not normally a fan of Southern food, mostly because it’s so unhealthy. But when in Asheville? The veggie bowl had beans, goat cheese grits, some sort of sauteed greens and fried okra.

IMG_3893.JPG

On Saturday morning, we set out for Grandfather Mountain which was about 70 miles from Asheville.

IMG_4242.JPG

IMG_4261.JPG

You could either drive to the top of the mountain to get to the main attraction – the swinging bridge or you could do a relatively easy short hike. We opted for the hike.

IMG_4279.JPG

See the bridge up there?

IMG_4282.JPG

Now you see it.

IMG_4285.JPG

On the way back down the mountain, the car in front of us suddenly stopped. At first, I wasn’t sure what they were doing but then realized that there were six deer immediately to our right.

IMG_4318.JPG

After our afternoon at the mountain, we showered and had a drink at the Grove Park Inn.

IMG_3904.JPG

We thought about eating dinner there and ended up going to a mediocre restaurant in downtown Asheville instead. It was not worth writing about. After dinner, we went to a bar for about two hours and then back to the hotel.

We checked out of our hotel around 11 and figured that we might as well have one last meal in Asheville. We decided to go to Salsa’s after my friend Erin (who coincidently was in Asheville this weekend too) said it was the best Mexican food she’d ever had. We started out with some chips and guacamole.

IMG_3917.JPG

Loved the presentation but I didn’t really like how the chips had oil drizzled on them. Made it quite messy to eat.

I decided to get a seafood entree – the Salmon and Shrimp molcajete. This picture does not even describe how big this was.

IMG_3918.JPG

And in the battle of woman versus food, food won.

IMG_3919.JPG

Right before we left, we stopped at The Chocolate Fetish to pick up a gift for Jason’s parents for watching Murphy for the weekend.

IMG_4320.JPG

Of course, we had to each sample a piece. I had a chocolate covered kiwi and Jason had a salted caramel.

IMG_4324.JPG

IMG_4325.JPG

I must have told Jason that we should move to Asheville at least a dozen times. If you live within driving distance, I would definitely recommend coming here for a visit.

10 responses to “Awesome Asheville

  1. Oh my gosh. That swinging bridge looks Crreeeeeepy! But fun. I love hiking. When I lived in Boiling Springs Stephen and I went to Asheville a few times just to walk around.

  2. Ok, I feel like I should start planning my trip now… Homemade biscuits…mmm. Nothing like them. And the hike looks gorgeous. Glad you two had a blast ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Everyone says Asheville is great. I’ve been dying to go there for long weekend. Glad you had a great trip!

  4. Wow, how beautiful. I need to visit Asheville again.

  5. This is the second site I’ve visited in a row that mentioned fried okra…I need to seek that out.

  6. Yea that looks amazing. I love the hiking views…and the chocolate doesn’t hurt either. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Glad you had such a good time!

  7. Asheville is super fun. I love it! They have a great selection of restaurants to choose from ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. LOVE grandfather mountain! and pretty much everything about Asheville… especially the Grove Park Inn. SFOF is very very jealous indeed.

  9. Awesome! I haven’t been to Asheville in too long! Great pictures – I especially like the outdoorsy ones, the guac pic, the free biscuit and the chocolate covered kiwi!!

  10. WOW! The food and scenery is amazing! I bet the view from that bridge was incredible!! Im with you about southern food but it is hard to pass up fried okra ๐Ÿ˜‰